Main menu - File - Move


Activating the menu item "File → Move" or the shortcut "Shift+F6" moves all selected items without request (in contrast to the menu item "File → Move with dialog" or the shortcut "F6").


In the menu item "Tools → Settings → File/folder operations" can be defined under "Move" what program should run the move process. One of the following options can be selected there:

Example for using two different move programs

Like described above, "Use FreeCommander" can be started with "File → Move" or the shortcut "Shift+F6".

To still allow to use the Windows move function (this may be useful/necessary, if administrator rights are required for the target folder) the function "Win-Move dialog" can be:

Further copying methods

The drag&drop copy process is done with the Windows move function.

Moving using the FreeCommander move function

If "Use FreeCommander" is selected (under the menu item "Tools → Settings → File/folder operations" in the section "Move"), the FreeCommander move process is started after the activation of the menu item "File → move" or the shortcut "Shift+F6".

Target folder

The target folder, where all selected items (files and folders) are moved to, is always the folder in the inactive panel. If another target folder is desired, the FreeCommander move function "Move with dialog" has to be chosen.

Moving options

This moving function does not offer settings.

However, if during a move process with the FreeCommander function "File → Move with dialog" under the tab "Settings" the button "Save - Dialog options for operations without dialog" was activated, all settings (active at that moment) for the function "Move with dialog" are applied also to the moving processes activated with the menu item "File → Move" or the shortcut "Shift+F6".



Moving process

Immediately after activating the menu item "File → Move" or the shortcut "Shift+F6" the moving process for all items to be moved is started.

Exception:

If the overwrite decision "Overwrite all" is selected in the dialog "Move" of the function "File → Move with dialog" and the button "Save - Dialog options for operations without dialog" was activated, during the first move with the function "Move → Copy" the following message is shown:



If the warning is answered with "No", the dialog "Move" of the menu item "File → Move with dialog" is shown and options may be changed.

If it is answered with "Yes", the moving process is started.

As soon as the moving process is started the following window "Move" is started. This window is only visible in the foreground, if several and/or big files are to be moved and the option "Auto minimize when starting the operation" is not checked.



The "Move" dialog and its modifications is visible only, if the option "Auto minimize when starting the operation" (in the tab "Settings") is not checked. The tab "Settings" is invisible during the copy process.

Pause

Clicking this option checks it and suspends the move process. Clicking it again unchecks the option and continues the move process.

Cancel

After activating the button (during the copy process) the request "Do you really want to cancel the operation?" is shown. After confirming the request, the "Move" dialog is closed (without further move processes). Already completed moves remain.

Moving progress

The moving progress is visualized as follows:

Move status of the items

In the item list each item is preceded by an icon that shows the move status of the item:

The message bar shows the actually moved item.


The items are moved in the order in which they are listed in the tab "Files".

If the overwrite decision "Ask the user" is selected and a file with the same name (as the file to be moved) exists in the target folder, the dialog "Confirm overwrite" is shown, where the user may decide, how to handle the conflict.

Confirm overwrite

In the dialog "Confirm overwrite" the user may decide, if a file should be overwritten in case of conflict.

Clicking the file icon opens the following pop up menu:



Confirm overwrite

Under "Confirm overwrite" the file to be overwritten is shown struck out including its path, size and modification date.

If the modification row is bold, this file is newer than the other file.

With

Under "With" the file to be moved is shown including its path, size and modification date.

If the modification row is bold, this file is newer than the other file.

Overwrite

Activating the button "Overwrite", overwrites the file shown under "Confirm overwrite" with the file shown under "With".

Overwrite all

Activating the button "Overwrite all", overwrites all target files (with the same name like a file to be moved) without further confirmation.

Overwrite all older

Activating the button "Overwrite all older", overwrites all target files (with the same name like a file to be moved), if the modification date of the target file is before the modification date of the file to be moved (the file to be moved is newer). No further warnings are provided.

Skip

After activating the button "Skip", the file shown under "With" is not moved. The file shown under "Confirm overwrite" is not overwritten.

Skip all

After activating the button "Skip all", no more target file (with the same name like a file to be moved) is overwritten.

Button Cancel

Activating the button "Cancel", cancels the moving process (of this and all further conflict files). Already completed moves remain (moves with no conflicts and moves of conflict files that were manually confirmed).

More options

Activating "More options" opens a pop up menu with the following additional options:

If this option is selected, all target files (with the same name like a file to be moved) are auto renamed first. Afterwards the "With" file is moved normally. Example: the file "FreeCommander.exe" is renamed to "FreeCommander(2).exe". If "FreeCommander(2).exe" already exists, the new file is named "FreeCommander(3).exe", etc.

If this option is selected, the files to be moved are moved renamed. In the "With" folder the name of the file does not change. In the target folder the original file will be unchanged. Example: the file "FreeCommander.exe" is renamed to "FreeCommander(2).exe". If "FreeCommander(2).exe" already exists, the new file is named "FreeCommander(3).exe", etc.