Main menu - File - Delete


Activating the menu item "File → Delete" or the shortcuts "Del" or "Shift+Del" opens the dialog "Delete".


In the menu item "Tools → Settings → File/folder operations" can be defined under "Delete" what program should run the deletion process. One of the following options can be selected there:

Example for using two different delete programs

Like described above, "Use FreeCommander" can be started with "File → Delete" or the shortcut "Del".

To still allow to use the Windows delete function (this may be useful/necessary, if administrator rights are required for the target folder) one or several of the following functions:

can be:

Delete using the FreeCommander delete function

If "Use FreeCommander" is selected (under the menu item "Tools → Settings → File/folder operations" in the section "Delete"), the FreeCommander delete process is started after the activation of the menu item "File → Delete" or the shortcuts "Del" or "Shift+Del".


The "Delete" dialog window has the following titles:


Initially, if the menu item "File → Delete" or the shortcut "Del" was activated. Furthermore, if the operation "Send to Recycle Bin" was selected in the dialog.


Initially, if the shortcut "Shift+Del" was activated. Furthermore, if the operation "Delete permanently" was selected in the dialog.


Initially, if the menu item "File → Wipe..." or the shortcut "Shift+Ctrl+Del" was activated. Furthermore, if the operation "Wipe the files" was selected in the dialog.

The "Delete" dialog contains the tabs

the information bar

and the buttons

Tab Operation


Selected item(s)

The content displayed under "Selected item(s)" differs according to the number of items to be deleted:

If several files (and/or folders) are selected, the number of files (and/or folder) is displayed under "Selected item(s)".

from

The folder from where the items are to be deleted is displayed under "from".

Operation

Under "Operation" one of the following delete operations can be selected:

Include only files of this type:

Delete read only items

This option is applied when the file (to be deleted) has the attribute "read only".

If this option is checked, these files are treated the same way as other files, concerning deleting.

If this option is not checked, the following "Confirm deleting" dialog is shown:


Tab Files

The tab "Files" lists all files and folders to be deleted with their paths.



Button

Activating the button reloads all files and folders. This may be useful if they can be processed from various workspaces.

Button Plain view

If the "Plain view" is not activated (button ), all folders and files selected in the main panel are listed.

If the "Plain view" is activated (button ), all folders and files selected in the main panel and all their subfolders with their files are shown in one list, independent of their paths.

Quick filter bar


The quick filter provides the possibility to decrease the number of files to be deleted (it is not applied to folders).

After activating the button a selection list is shown, with the last inputs (filters) in this field. Clicking the button activates the highlighted filter.

Tab Settings

Under the tab "Settings" further settings for the deletion process can be defined.



Auto close for successful operation

If this option is checked, the "Delete" dialog is closed automatically, as as soon as all deletion processes are successfully completed.

Auto close for canceled operation

If this option is checked, the "Delete" dialog is closed automatically, after one deletion process was canceled.

Auto minimize when starting the operation

If this option is checked, the "Delete" dialog is minimized automatically, after the button was activated.

Show error messages

If this option is checked, an own error window with an error message is opened after the occurrence of some errors.

Wipe operation

In the input filed "number of overwrite runs" can be defined how often the following steps should be executed. A file is absolutely sure wiped out (unrestorable deleted) from 32 repetitions up. One overwrite run consists of the following steps:

Wipe operations are applied only to files stored on hard discs, not to files stored on USB sticks.

Information bar: ...files, ...folders

In the "Delete" dialog the information bar (lowest window line) "Waiting for starting operation on: ...files, ...folders" shows the information how many files and folders are to be copied. On opening the dialog the bar is invisible. Whenever the tab "Files" or the button "Run" are activated, the files and folders to be copied are loaded and their number is calculated and shown. The number of files and folders shown in the information bar can be different from the number shown under "Selected item(s)". The differences may result from:

Button Queue

Pressing the button adds the delete operation to the operations queue and starts the processing of the operations queue.

Activating the button in the operation queue bar opens the operations queue dialog.

File operations via the operations queue are described in the chapter Operations queue.

Button Run

After activating the button the delete process for all items to be deleted is started directly. The "Delete" dialog shows the following modifications:



The "Delete" dialog and its modifications is visible only, if the option "Auto minimize when starting the operation" (in the tab "Settings") is not checked. The tab "Settings" is invisible during the copy process.

Pause

Clicking this option checks it and suspends the deletion process. Clicking it again unchecks the option and continues the deletion process.

Cancel

After activating the button (during the deletion process) the request "Do you really want to cancel the operation?" is shown. After confirming the request, the deletion dialog is closed (without further deletion processes). Already completed deletions remain.

Deletion progress

The deletion progress is visualized as follows:

Delete status of the items

In the item list each item is preceded by an icon that shows the delete status of the item:

The message bar shows the actually deleted item.


The items are deleted in the order in which they are listed in the tab "Files".

Button Cancel

Activating the button "Cancel", cancels the deletion process. Already completed deletions remain. The delete dialog is closed.