Main menu - File - Copy with dialog - Use FreeCommander


If "Use FreeCommander" is selected (under the menu item "Tools → Settings → File/folder operations" in the section "Copy"), the FreeCommander "Copy" dialog is opened after the activation of the menu item "File → Copy with dialog" or the "F5" key.


The "Copy" dialog contains the tabs

the information bar

and the buttons

Tab Copy


Selected item(s)

The content displayed under "Selected item(s)" differs according to the number of items to be copied:

If several files (and/or folders) are selected, the number of files (and/or folders) is displayed under "Selected item(s)".

from

The folder from where the items are to be copied is displayed under "from".

Target

Include only files of this type:

For overwrite decision

Under "For overwrite decision" can be defined, what should be done with files of the target folder, that have the same name as a file to be copied. The following overwrite options are offered:

Overwrite hidden/system items

This option is applied when the file (to be overwritten) in the target folder has the attribute "system" or "hidden".

If this option is checked, these files are treated the same way as other files, concerning overwriting.

If this option is not checked, the following "Confirm overwrite" dialog is shown (independent of the selected overwrite option):



Overwrite read only items

This option is applied when the file (to be overwritten) in the target folder has the attribute "read only".

If this option is checked, these files are treated the same way as other files, concerning overwriting.

If this option is not checked, the following "Confirm overwrite" dialog is shown (independent of the selected overwrite option):



Preserve file/folder timestamp

If this option is checked, the creation date of the item copy is the creation date of the original item.

The creation date is set after the copy process. Therefore the copying process must not be interrupted.

Tab Files

The tab "Files" lists all files and folders to be copied with their paths.



Button

Activating the button reloads all files and folders. This may be useful if they can be processed from various workspaces.

Quick filter bar


The quick filter provides the possibility to decrease the number of files to be copied (it is not applied to folders). If a quick filter is activated the option "Preserve file/folder timestamp" is ignored.

After activating the button a selection list is shown, with the last inputs (filters) in this field. Clicking the button activates the highlighted filter.

Tab Settings

Under the tab "Settings" further settings for the copying process can be defined.



Auto close for successful operation

If this option is checked, the "Copy" dialog is closed automatically, as soon as all copy processes are successfully completed.

Auto close for canceled operation

If this option is checked, the "Copy" dialog is closed automatically, after one copy process was canceled.

Auto minimize when starting the operation

If this option is checked, the "Copy" dialog is minimized automatically, after the button was activated.

Perform operation using unbuffered I/O (recommended for very large file transfers)

If this option is checked, copy processes are carried out with unbuffered I/O. This may be useful, if very large files are copied, because otherwise the Windows buffering can cause performance problems.

Size limit for unbuffered I/O (GB)

If the option "Perform operation using unbuffered I/O (recommended for very large file transfers)" is checked, in this input field the minimum file size can be defined, starting from that files are copied unbuffered.

Button Save

After activating the button "Save" all settings defined in the tabs "Copy" and "Settings" are saved and applied to the next FreeCommander copy processes activated by the menu item "File → Copy" or the shortcut "Shift+F5".

Information bar: Waiting for starting operation on: ...files ...folders

In the "Copy" dialog the information bar (lowest window line) "Waiting for starting operation on: ...files ...folders" shows the information how many files and folders are to be copied. On opening the dialog the bar is invisible. Whenever the tab "Files" or the button "Run" are activated, the files and folders to be copied are loaded and their number is calculated and shown. The number of files and folders shown in the information bar can be different from the number shown under "Selected item(s)". The differences may result from:

Button Queue

Pressing the button adds the copying operation to the operations queue and starts the processing of the operations queue.

Activating the button in the operation queue bar opens the operations queue dialog.

File operations via the operations queue are described in the chapter Operations queue.

Button Run

After activating the button the copy process for all items to be copied is started directly. The "Copy" dialog shows the following modifications:



The "Copy" dialog and its modifications are visible only, if the option "Auto minimize when starting the operation" (in the tab "Settings") is not checked. The tab "Settings" is invisible during the copy process.

Pause

Clicking this option checks it and suspends the copy process. Clicking it again unchecks the option and continues the copy process.

Cancel

After activating the button (during the copy process) the request "Do you really want to cancel the operation?" is shown. After confirming the request, the "Copy" dialog is closed (without further copy processes). Already completed copies remain.

Copying progress

The copying progress is visualized as follows:

Copy status of the items

In the item list each item is preceded by an icon that shows the copy status of the item:

The message bar shows the actually copied item.


The items are copied in the order in which they are listed in the tab "Files".

If the overwrite decision "Ask the user" is selected and a file with the same name (as the file to be copied) exists in the target folder, the dialog "Confirm overwrite" is shown, where the user may decide, how to handle the conflict.

Confirm overwrite

In the dialog "Confirm overwrite" the user may decide, if a file should be overwritten in case of conflict.

Clicking the file icon opens the following pop up menu:



Confirm overwrite

Under "Confirm overwrite" the file to be overwritten is shown struck out including its path, size and modification date.

If the modification row is bold, this file is newer than the other file.

With

Under "With" the file to be copied is shown including its path, size and modification date.

If the modification row is bold, this file is newer than the other file.

Overwrite

Activating the button "Overwrite", overwrites the file shown under "Confirm overwrite" with the file shown under "With".

Overwrite all

Activating the button "Overwrite all", overwrites all target files (with the same name like a file to be copied) without further confirmation.

Overwrite all older

Activating the button "Overwrite all older", overwrites all target files (with the same name like a file to be copied), if the modification date of the target file is before the modification date of the file to be copied (the file to be copied is newer). No further warnings are provided.

Skip

After activating the button "Skip", the file shown under "With" is not copied. The file shown under "Confirm overwrite" is not overwritten.

Skip all

After activating the button "Skip all", no more target file (with the same name like a file to be copied) is overwritten.

More options

Activating "More options" opens a pop up menu with the following additional options:

If this option is selected, all target files (with the same name like a file to be copied) are auto renamed first. Afterwards the "With" file is copied normally. Example: the file "FreeCommander.exe" is renamed to "FreeCommander(2).exe". If "FreeCommander(2).exe" already exists, the new file is named "FreeCommander(3).exe", etc.

If this option is selected, the files to be copied are copied renamed. In the "With" folder the name of the file does not change. In the target folder the original file will be unchanged. Example: the file "FreeCommander.exe" is renamed to "FreeCommander(2).exe". If "FreeCommander(2).exe" already exists, the new file is named "FreeCommander(3).exe", etc.

Button Cancel

Activating the button "Cancel", cancels the copying process (of this and all further conflict files). Already completed copies remain (copies with no conflicts and copies of conflict files that were manually confirmed).