Main menu - File - Copy


Activating the menu item "File → Copy" or the shortcut "Shift+F5" copies all selected items without request (in contrast to the menu item "File → Copy with dialog" or the shortcut "F5").


In the menu item "Tools → Settings → File/folder operations" can be defined under "Copy" what program should run the copy process. One of the following options can be selected there:

Example for using two different copy programs

Like described above, "Use FreeCommander" can be started with "File → Copy" or the shortcut "Shift+F5".

To still allow to use the Windows copy function (this may be useful/necessary, if administrator rights are required for the target folder) the function "Win-Copy dialog" can be:

Further copying methods

The drag&drop copy process is done with the Windows copy function.

drag&drop with the left mouse button allows to copy items (like described under "drag&drop with the right mouse button).

Copying using the FreeCommander copy function

If "Use FreeCommander" is selected (under the menu item "Tools → Settings → File/folder operations" in the section "Copy"), the FreeCommander copy process is started after the activation of the menu item "File → Copy" or the shortcut "Shift+F5".

Target folder

The target folder, where all selected items (files and folders) are copied to, is always the folder in the inactive panel. If another target folder is desired, the FreeCommander copy function "Copy with dialog" has to be chosen.

Copying options

This copying function does not offer settings.

However, if during a copy process with the FreeCommander function "File → Copy with dialog" under the tab "Settings" the button "Save - Dialog options for operations without dialog" was activated, all settings (active at that moment) for the function "Copy with dialog" are applied also to the copying processes activated with the menu item "File → Copy" or the shortcut "Shift+F5".



Copying process

Immediately after activating the menu item "File → Copy" or the shortcut "Shift+F5" the copying process for all items to be copied is started.

Exception:

If the overwrite decision "Overwrite all" is selected in the dialog "Copy" of the function "File → Copy with dialog" and the button "Save - Dialog options for operations without dialog" was activated, during the first copy with the function "File → Copy" the following message is shown:



If the warning is answered with "No", the dialog "Copy" of the menu item "File → Copy with dialog" is shown and options may be changed.

If it is answered with "Yes", the copying process is started.

As soon as the copying process is started the following window "Copying" is started. This window is only visible in the foreground, if several and/or big files are to be copied and the option "Auto minimize when starting the operation" is not checked.



Pause

Clicking this option checks it and suspends the copy process. Clicking it again unchecks the option and continues the copy process.

Cancel

After activating the button (during the copy process) the request "Do you really want to cancel the operation?" is shown. After confirming the request, the "Copy" dialog is closed (without further copy processes). Already completed copies remain.

Copying progress

The copying progress is visualized as follows:

Copy status of the items

In the item list each item is preceded by an icon that shows the copy status of the item:

The message bar shows the actually copied item.


The items are copied in the order in which they are listed in the tab "Files".

If the overwrite decision "Ask the user" is selected and a file with the same name (as the file to be copied) exists in the target folder, the dialog "Confirm overwrite" is shown, where the user may decide, how to handle the conflict.

Confirm overwrite

In the dialog "Confirm overwrite" the user may decide, if a file should be overwritten in case of conflict.

Clicking the file icon opens the following pop up menu:

This dialog is shown only, if the overwrite decision "Overwrite all" is not selected.



Confirm overwrite

Under "Confirm overwrite" the file to be overwritten is shown struck out including its path, size and modification date.

If the modification row is bold, this file is newer than the other file.

With

Under "With" the file to be copied is shown including its path, size and modification date.

If the modification row is bold, this file is newer than the other file.

Overwrite

Activating the button "Overwrite", overwrites the file shown under "Confirm overwrite" with the file shown under "With".

Overwrite all

Activating the button "Overwrite all", overwrites all target files (with the same name like a file to be copied) without further confirmation.

Overwrite all older

Activating the button "Overwrite all older", overwrites all target files (with the same name like a file to be copied), if the modification date of the target file is before the modification date of the file to be copied (the file to be copied is newer). No further warnings are provided.

Skip

After activating the button "Skip", the file shown under "With" is not copied. The file shown under "Confirm overwrite" is not overwritten.

Skip all

After activating the button "Skip all", no more target file (with the same name like a file to be copied) is overwritten.

Button Cancel

Activating the button "Cancel", cancels the copying process (of this and all further conflict files). Already completed copies remain (copies with no conflicts and copies of conflict files that were manually confirmed).

More options

Activating "More options" opens a pop up menu with the following additional options:

If this option is selected, all target files (with the same name like a file to be copied) are auto renamed first. Afterwards the "With" file is copied normally. Example: the file "FreeCommander.exe" is renamed to "FreeCommander(2).exe". If "FreeCommander(2).exe" already exists, the new file is named "FreeCommander(3).exe", etc.

If this option is selected, the files to be copied are copied renamed. In the "With" folder the name of the file does not change. In the target folder the original file will be unchanged. Example: the file "FreeCommander.exe" is renamed to "FreeCommander(2).exe". If "FreeCommander(2).exe" already exists, the new file is named "FreeCommander(3).exe", etc.