Show folder in both Panels - an error and a question

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Forez
Posts: 464
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Show folder in both Panels - an error and a question

#1 Post by Forez » 30.10.2019, 19:51

Description available at https://freecommander.com/fchelpxe/en/K ... tcuts.html says

Same folder in both windows
Ctrl+E


which is simply not true. Because what it does is this: it shows in the Inactive Panel the same folder as in the Active Panel. And that correct description from the previous sentence is even shown by FreeCommander itself when to add this shortcut in form of an icon to the Splitter

And on a side note: that section of the online Help apparently uses in overall the word "window" instead of "panel"



And here comes the question

Is there an option to do the opposite? To show in the Active Panel the same folder as in the Inactive Panel? And if not, then could it be added to FC in a future release?

Forez
Posts: 464
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Show folder in both Panels - an error and a question

#2 Post by Forez » 13.02.2020, 12:44

Well, anyone?

Zorkoff
Posts: 112
Joined: 10.05.2011, 21:14
Location: Boston, MA

Re: Show folder in both Panels - an error and a question

#3 Post by Zorkoff » 13.02.2020, 15:18

It seems like a useless function. Ctl-E works fine. To swap just make the opposite panel active first.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4059
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Show folder in both Panels - an error and a question

#4 Post by Dreamer » 13.02.2020, 20:17

It works here too, with default settings, build 813 donor.

Regarding the question, it's not exactly what you want, but you can use these options / shortcuts (customizable):

Right to left - ctrl+alt+left
Left to right - ctrl+alt+right

Moved to General Discussion.

Forez
Posts: 464
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Show folder in both Panels - an error and a question

#5 Post by Forez » 19.02.2020, 19:27

Zorkoff wrote:
13.02.2020, 15:18
It seems like a useless function. Ctl-E works fine. To swap just make the opposite panel active first.
Maybe to you

But I every day at least 2-3 times have to hit on my Splitter this CTRL + E shortcut. So there is a ~50% chance that before that I will have to first click on the opposite Panel in order to make active the proper one. So on a busy day I do it 5-10 times. And there are 365 days in a year. Plus I often operate from affair and without keyboard, when laying on a bed, so I have to use the icons and not the keyboard
Dreamer wrote:
13.02.2020, 20:17
[...]
it's not exactly what you want, but you can use these options / shortcuts (customizable):

Right to left - ctrl+alt+left
Left to right - ctrl+alt+right
[...]
Yes, that would work- if I could put it in form of icons on the Splitter

Are those shortcuts available as such? I myself have not found them

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4059
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Show folder in both Panels - an error and a question

#6 Post by Dreamer » 19.02.2020, 21:40

Looks they are set by default, type "left" in filter to find these commands.

There are also hidden buttons in the status bar for Left to right / Right to left.
Attachments
fcScreenshot_02192020_223639.png
fcScreenshot_02192020_223639.png (9.1 KiB) Viewed 6139 times

Forez
Posts: 464
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Show folder in both Panels - an error and a question

#7 Post by Forez » 27.02.2020, 18:00

Dreamer wrote:
19.02.2020, 21:40
Looks they are set by default, type "left" in filter to find these commands.
Type?

Type in Quick Filter to find a command?
Dreamer wrote:
19.02.2020, 21:40
There are also hidden buttons in the status bar for Left to right / Right to left.
My Status Bar is half your size as it does no have two levels



It seems that for now the most efficient method for me is to just use Middle Muse Button and create new tabs in the same Panel as I do not have to am for tiny icon which is often far away on the screen from the folder I wish to open

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4059
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Show folder in both Panels - an error and a question

#8 Post by Dreamer » 27.02.2020, 20:43

Those invisible buttons should be also in 1-row status bar, just the position will be different.

I created the shortcuts Ctrl+< and Ctrl+> - it's intuitive, it just move right to left, left to right.

You can also create standard toolbar buttons, the have no icons, but you can assign some.
type "left" in filter to find these commands
Sorry, I'll explain it, FC has quick filter in some dialogs, you can type the part of the command you need to find, it's in "Define keyboard shortcuts" and "Define action toolbars" - to filter commands.

https://freecommander.com/fchelpxe/en/D ... tcuts.html
https://freecommander.com/fchelpxe/en/D ... lbars.html

Forez
Posts: 464
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Show folder in both Panels - an error and a question

#9 Post by Forez » 18.03.2020, 17:38

Forez wrote:
19.02.2020, 19:27
[...]
Dreamer wrote:
13.02.2020, 20:17
[...]
it's not exactly what you want, but you can use these options / shortcuts (customizable):

Right to left - ctrl+alt+left
Left to right - ctrl+alt+right
[...]
Yes, that would work- if I could put it in form of icons on the Splitter
[...]
I found them [in the View section], tested them- and I am pleased with how my navigation / operations will now improve

And yes: in theory It is not what I wanted - but in practice the outcome is what I needed
Dreamer wrote:
19.02.2020, 21:40
[...]
There are also hidden buttons in the status bar for Left to right / Right to left.
There are so tiny that practically unusable; at least on my setup / settings

[Even if they can be made somehow bigger I will not use them as I need them to be near the icons for drivers, shortcuts to my folder and that navigation element >..<]


As for the
Dreamer wrote:
27.02.2020, 20:43
[...]
FC has quick filter in some dialogs, you can type the part of the command you need to find, it's in "Define keyboard shortcuts" and "Define action toolbars" - to filter commands.
[...]
I am guessing that it must be something added after version 770 [which I am still forced to use]



So to sum up:
my problem is solved, so thank you both; but the
Forez wrote:
30.10.2019, 19:51
Description
[...]
is simply not true
issue is still relevant

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4059
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Show folder in both Panels - an error and a question

#10 Post by Dreamer » 18.03.2020, 21:08

[Even if they can be made somehow bigger I will not use them as I need them to be near the icons for drivers, shortcuts to my folder and that navigation element >..<]
You can add the toolbar buttons, for any toolbar, main, address, splitter, left, right. These options don't have the icons, but you can assign your own icons.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests