Main menu - File - Multi rename...


After activating the main menu item "File → Multi rename..." or the shortcut "Ctrl+M" the "Multi rename" window is opened, where the items (files and/or folders) selected in the active panel can be renamed.

The split window "Multi rename" is subdivided as follows:



List of files and folders

The list of files and folders shows all files and folders to be renamed. On opening the windows it contains all files and folders selected in the active panel.

The menu items (and partly the icons) provide the following processing functions for the list of files and folders:

File

The following menu items of the rename main menu item "File" are provided as icons (buttons) and shortcuts additionally:

Edit

The rename main menu item "Edit" offers the following menu items:

       Only the highlighted items is influenced by the functions "View (F3)" and "Quick view (Ctrl+Q)".

Command

The rename main menu item "Command" offers the following menu items:

Options

The rename main menu item "Options" offers the following menu items:

Clicking this menu item activates/deactivates this option. If this option is checked, this menu item is preceded by and on opening the window "Multi rename" the profiles combo box is active. That allows to select a profile (e.g. with the ↓ key) immediately.

Clicking one of the following menu items activates/deactivates this option. If a menu item is activated, it is preceded by .

If a name contains illegal characters, its row is preceded by the error icon and a suitable failure message is provided in its column "New name".

If this option is checked, the quick viewer panel is shown above the list of files and folders. If not, it is shown to the right of the list of files and folders.

Profile

The combo box "Profile" shows the active profiles name, if a profile is active. After clicking the combo box another profile can be selected. On switching the profile all actual settings (in the tab "Settings") are overwritten by the settings of the new profile. Profiles can be managed in the tab "Profiles".

Tab Settings

The settings in the tab "Settings" allow to define how the new names should be formed from the actual names.

File name and File extension

In the section "Pattern" new names and extensions for the items (files and folders) to be renamed can be formed.

After clicking the button in the fields "File name" or "File extension" an older content of the field can be selected from the field history, to replace the actual content (pattern). This is only possible, if the option "Save history" is checked and the command "Clear history" was not activated most recently. After clicking the button next to the field a wild card can be selected from a drop down menu and is inserted at the cursor position. Wild cards are always enclosed in square brackets "[ ]". On forming a new name all wild cards are evaluated and replaced by a string of characters. All other characters (not enclosed in square brackets) are placed in the name unchanged.

The following wild cards are supported:



Examples for wild cards:



The wild cards for "Summary info", "MP3" and "EXIF" also can be augmented with a number. Example: [exif_camera6] - is replaced by the first 6 characters of the camera name.

The wild card [c] numbers the items to be renamed according to the criteria defined under "Counter".

If a date is inserted via wild cards it is formed according to the criteria defined under "Timestamp format".

By now nearly any digital camera writes EXIF data to the beginning of image files. This information can be used on forming image file names via appropriate wild cards.

The combination of several wild cards allows to define complex rules for forming new names. (e.g. "[exif_camera][exif_cmodel][exif_taken,1,10]_[c]").

Case

After clicking the combo box "Case" and selecting an option, the case sensitivity of the forming of names can be defined. The following options are offered:



Search and replace

"Search and replace" offers the possibility to further process the items in the list of files and folders.

After clicking the button in the input field "Replace with" an older content of the field can be selected from the field history, to replace the actual content. This is only possible, if the option "Save history" is checked and the command "Clear history" was not activated most recently.
After clicking the button next to the field a wild card can be selected from a drop down menu and is inserted at the cursor position. All wild cards described under "File name and file extension" can be selected.

Include only files of this type:

With subfolder

If this option is checked, the "List of files and folders" also contains files and folders of subfolders, if folders are selected in the main window.

Only files

If this option is checked, the "List of files and folders" only contains files, no folders are contained.

Timestamp format

In the input field "Timestamp format" the format for timestamps inserted with the wild cards „[d]“, „[dc]“ or “[dm]“ (see table above) can be defined. Clicking the button opens a selection list with predefined timestamp formats.

Counter

Under "Counter" can be defined, according to what criteria the items to be renamed are numbered with the wild card "[c]". The following parameters are offered:

Preview changes

Activating the button "Preview changes" forms the new names for all items of the "File and folder list" (that are not locked) according to the actual settings and shows them in the column "New name".

Auto preview

If this option is checked, the new names of all items of the "File and folder list" are formed and shown immediately after every change in the settings.

Rename

After activating this button (or the menu item "Command → Rename) all list items are renamed in the file system with the name in the column "New name". If the option "Close dialog after rename" is not checked, the button "Rename" is replaced with the button "Reload". Activating the button "Reload" reloads all items for further editing their names.

The last (mistakenly) renaming process can be undone for all renamed items with the menu item "Command → Undo". This is also possible if the window "Multi rename" has to be activated again (with any items).

Close dialog after rename

If this option is checked, the window "Multi rename" is closed after the rename process, if no error occurred during the process. If errors occur, they items that could not be renamed are preceded by the error icon in the "File and folder list" and and a suitable failure message is provided in the column "New name".

Reset

After activating the button "Reset" (or the menu item "Command → Reset current settings") all settings made under the tab "Settings" are reset to their initial values.

Cancel

After activating the button "Cancel" the "Multi rename" window is closed without further actions.

Tab Profiles

Under the tab "Profiles" rename profiles can be managed. In a profile all settings defined in the tab "Settings" are contained and saved.

Using profiles makes sense, if rename processes have to be repeated several times.



The list of profiles offers the following edit functions:

Add current settings as new profile (Shortcut: "Ins")

After activating the button or the shortcut "Ins" a new profile is inserted in the list of profiles, containing all actual settings (of the tab "Settings"). The new profile can be named in the column "Name" of the new row.

Rename profile (Shortcut: "F2")

After activating the button or the shortcut "F2" the highlighted profile can be rename in an input field shown over the column "Name".

Delete profile (Shortcut: "Del")

After activating the button or the shortcut "Del" the highlighted profile is deleted without dialog.

Move down (Shortcut: "Ctrl+↓")

After activating the button or the shortcut "Ctrl+↓" the highlighted profile is moved one row down. If the start option "Open first profile on start" is selected, on opening the window "Multi rename" the settings of the first profile are activated.

Move up (Shortcut: "Ctrl+↑")

After activating the button or the shortcut "Ctrl+↑" the highlighted profile is moved one row up.

Apply selected profile (Shortcut: "Enter")

After activating the button or the shortcut "Enter" the actual settings in the tab "Settings" are overwritten with the settings of the highlighted profile.