How to consistently open search results in left panel in a new tab?

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Forez
Posts: 280
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

How to consistently open search results in left panel in a new tab?

#1 Post by Forez » 20.11.2017, 18:57

I have the left panel active. I find what I need via the CTRL + F window. I press CTRL + Space on some found item from the list and the folder holding it is shown in the right panel, thus replacing the last active tab in the right panel. And that just disrupts my workflow


So how do I tell FreeCommander to always open the search result in left panel in a new tab? So that my existing tabs will not replaced with a search-result-folder?

And why does sometimes CTRL + Space show a result in the left panel?

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3212
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: How to consistently open search results in left panel in a new tab?

#2 Post by Dreamer » 20.11.2017, 21:59

Space is to open in active and Ctrl+Space to open in inactive panel.
You can use option in menu > options > "use left/right for "Open location"", to open always in left (space), or right (ctrl+space) panel.

Opening in a new tab is not possible yet (AFAIK).

Forez
Posts: 280
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: How to consistently open search results in left panel in a new tab?

#3 Post by Forez » 22.11.2017, 16:57

Dreamer wrote:
20.11.2017, 21:59
Space is to open in active and Ctrl+Space to open in inactive panel.
You can use option in menu > options > "use left/right for "Open location"", to open always in left (space), or right (ctrl+space) panel.
Thank you

I should had figured that on myself

Dreamer wrote:
20.11.2017, 21:59
Opening in a new tab is not possible yet (AFAIK).
Can anyone confirm this?

It seems so, as there is no such option in the Search window menu; and the Search window having its own options suggest that they are all in its menu


So it seems that I will have to make a request out of this

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3212
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: How to consistently open search results in left panel in a new tab?

#4 Post by Dreamer » 22.11.2017, 20:45

Forez wrote:
22.11.2017, 16:57
So it seems that I will have to make a request out of this
Yes, please, I think it's not possible (99%).

Workaround - open a new tab before you start searching, you can just double-click free area in tab bar.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3212
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: How to consistently open search results in left panel in a new tab?

#5 Post by Dreamer » 28.11.2017, 01:23

So I found this, almost forgot this feature...

http://forum.freecommander.com/viewtopi ... 585#p26585
vsrawat wrote:
28.11.2017, 01:06
selecting, "export to container" from Menu - File, opened a new tab in fc, having all or selected entries, like those were the only contents of a single folder, and there I could do further actions selectively without loosing track.

Forez
Posts: 280
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: How to consistently open search results in left panel in a new tab?

#6 Post by Forez » 29.11.2017, 14:21

Dreamer wrote:
28.11.2017, 01:23
So I found this, almost forgot this feature...

http://forum.freecommander.com/viewtopi ... 585#p26585
vsrawat wrote:
28.11.2017, 01:06
selecting, "export to container" from Menu - File, opened a new tab in fc, having all or selected entries, like those were the only contents of a single folder, and there I could do further actions selectively without loosing track.
This helps; a little- only for certain situations

And so, here is my request: http://forum.freecommander.com/viewtopi ... =20&t=8317

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests