F4 edit doesn't work

Bugs and other issues or requests which have been resolved.
Post Reply
Message
Author
fcleuet
Posts: 5
Joined: 22.06.2011, 07:45

F4 edit doesn't work

#1 Post by fcleuet » 21.07.2021, 16:31

Hello,

for several weeks, I have not been able to operate the F4 / edit. My editor (notepad ++) is configured as follows in the preferences / external program.
Image
Pressing F4 make nothing but a right clic => notepad open without problem the current selected file.

What step did I miss?
Thank you in advance for your feedback and thank you to the developers of FC which saves me a lot of time.

horst.epp
Posts: 312
Joined: 15.11.2008, 20:18

Re: F4 edit doesn't work

#2 Post by horst.epp » 21.07.2021, 18:03

There is no image in your post.
The editor must be configured as in my examples
Screenshot - 21.07.2021 , 18_01_05.png
Screenshot - 21.07.2021 , 18_01_05.png (20.85 KiB) Viewed 7891 times
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 21H2 (OS Build 22000.778)
Everything Version 1.5.0.1315a (x64)
FreeCommander XE 2022 Build 872 64-bit donor

fcleuet
Posts: 5
Joined: 22.06.2011, 07:45

Re: F4 edit doesn't work

#3 Post by fcleuet » 22.07.2021, 15:11

hi,

as you can see here it's something like my setup
https://diathese-my.sharepoint.com/:i:/ ... w?e=EJCpal

i use FC seens more than 5 years and i was operating perfectly

I mis something ?

Regards

horst.epp
Posts: 312
Joined: 15.11.2008, 20:18

Re: F4 edit doesn't work

#4 Post by horst.epp » 22.07.2021, 15:32

fcleuet wrote: 22.07.2021, 15:11 hi,

as you can see here it's something like my setup
https://diathese-my.sharepoint.com/:i:/ ... w?e=EJCpal

i use FC seens more than 5 years and i was operating perfectly

I mis something ?

Regards
The only thing I see its that you haven't " around the parameter.
So it may be problems if the full pathname of the file to edit contains spaces.
But there should be an error message in this case.
Another Idea is that you already have running NP++ in the background with higher privileges.
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 21H2 (OS Build 22000.778)
Everything Version 1.5.0.1315a (x64)
FreeCommander XE 2022 Build 872 64-bit donor

fcleuet
Posts: 5
Joined: 22.06.2011, 07:45

Re: F4 edit doesn't work

#5 Post by fcleuet » 01.08.2021, 09:32

hi
sorry for the delay, i didn't see your reply.
I have added the " at the parameter.
I just control if it make something but no one action on F4.
For information with the task manager N++ is not running in back.

So what can y do ?
Regards

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 3437
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: F4 edit doesn't work

#6 Post by Marek » 01.08.2021, 12:31

Have you tried to use menu item "File->Edit"?
Have you tried to define other program for testing?

fcleuet
Posts: 5
Joined: 22.06.2011, 07:45

Re: F4 edit doesn't work

#7 Post by fcleuet » 01.08.2021, 12:43

hi marek,
shame on me. The deepest issue are sometime the simply stupid one.
file edit was effectve, so with extra / shortcut definition i observe tah edit shortcut wasn't fixed.

Many thanks marek and please maintain FC in live and development becaus it's so efficient in today's operations.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 5235
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

Re: F4 edit doesn't work

#8 Post by Dreamer » 01.08.2021, 13:27

In previous versions some shortcuts could be lost, temporary or permanently, but it's another issue, should be fixed.

Topic closed.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests