Constant CPU usage

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
vidw
Posts: 7
Joined: 04.03.2020, 21:40

Constant CPU usage

#1 Post by vidw » 08.06.2024, 04:56

I'm using FreeCommander XE 2024 Build 901 on Windows 10. Task Manager shows FreeCommander constantly using between 1% and 4% CPU even when the program is in the background idling not performing any tasks. What configuration setting or feature would cause this?

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 6262
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

Re: Constant CPU usage

#2 Post by Dreamer » 18.06.2024, 22:16

Can't confirm in 910 and 901, perhaps it could be OS or antivirus, or other background operation.

horst.epp
Posts: 477
Joined: 15.11.2008, 20:18

Re: Constant CPU usage

#3 Post by horst.epp » 19.06.2024, 12:15

No such usage here.
Screenshot - 19.06.2024 , 12_14_03.png
Screenshot - 19.06.2024 , 12_14_03.png (16.03 KiB) Viewed 903 times
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3880)
Everything Version 1.5.0.1382a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.3.4, Listary Pro 6.3.0.78
FreeCommander XE 2024 Build 910 64-bit donor

vidw
Posts: 7
Joined: 04.03.2020, 21:40

Re: Constant CPU usage

#4 Post by vidw » 20.06.2024, 22:53

Dreamer wrote: 18.06.2024, 22:16 Can't confirm in 910 and 901, perhaps it could be OS or antivirus, or other background operation.
Would an external background operation make FreeCommander look like it's consuming CPU?
Is there a FreeCommander setting that makes it perform some work in the background?

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 6262
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

Re: Constant CPU usage

#5 Post by Dreamer » 21.06.2024, 13:04

I'm not sure, perhaps antivirus, OS.

You could try default setting, portable version, if it's the same, then it would be clearer, if it's a system issue, or FC setting.

More info how to install a portable version:

https://freecommander.com/en/faq-freeco ... l-portable

Your existing FC installation and settings will be preserved.

I tried to start a new portable version with default settings, both panels are on Desktop path, CPU was 0%, then I just use copy/paste 1 file on desktop and CPU usage for FC was changed from 0% to 1%, then I tried Ctrl+C and Ctrl+V 20x and CPU was changed to 5% for few seconds, so the CPU usage of FC could be increased, if OS is performing some operations, as I said, antivirus, scan, copying, even virus.

Check your opened tabs, paths, perhaps closes those you don't need, but it could be anything, you can try to close other background programs 1 by 1 and watch FC CPU usage, so you could find, which program cause it.

User avatar
Forez
Posts: 1388
Joined: 30.01.2016, 12:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Constant CPU usage

#6 Post by Forez » 22.06.2024, 15:10

Both my Build 910 64-bit Donor Portable & Build 901 32-bit Public Installed seem to working A-OK

And what is more, recently I have been having on my non-updated Windows 10 strange inexplicable usage of CPU percentages by 2-3 various programs to the point of inevitable system crash- but FreeCommander stays at 0% when it is idle

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 18 guests