Batch Rename

Bugs and other issues or requests which have been resolved.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4133
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

Batch Rename

#1 Post by Dreamer » 08.11.2007, 00:51

Batch rename, the same as in XnView or ACDSee (or other file managers, TC, UC) - select the files, press F2, show the dialog with selected files.

- Option "replace [ X ] with [ Y ]" - to replace the term of the original file name (X) with the new term (Y) - this should be included in the main Batch rename dialog.

- Change case - this is also included in the Batch rename in many file managers/image viewers, so it would be useful also in FC

- Option to add time/date to file, or even more info (screenshot #2) would be also very useful.

Few screenshots:

Image

Image

This is one of the most important features for FC.

User avatar
Fad
Posts: 137
Joined: 21.10.2007, 16:22
Location: England

#2 Post by Fad » 08.11.2007, 16:14

I agree with the Batch Rename function.

I`ve tried a few programs to do this and some are so complicated, it`s actually quicker to do it by hand rather than mess about with the settings.

...been using the old (but still a little complex) program 1-4a Rename for quite some time via the SendTo menu which seems to get the job done, but this would be useful in FC.


A couple of quick thoughts for renaming....

Change Case: All First Characters Uppercase
(optionally ignoring the extension)

Kill unecessary and/or double spaces.

Act on folder/s recursively.

Realtime previewing of new names, and flag duplicates or errors with an X (or something)....then marked files will be ignored on that pass.

User avatar
-NOISE-
Posts: 10
Joined: 01.11.2007, 11:40
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

#3 Post by -NOISE- » 08.11.2007, 17:01

Excuse me, it will be in future version or what?
I am the light that is over all things. I am all: from me all came forth, and to me all attained. Split a piece of wood; I am there

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4133
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

#4 Post by Dreamer » 09.11.2007, 01:38

I`ve tried a few programs to do this and some are so complicated, it`s actually quicker to do it by hand rather than mess about with the settings.
Those screenshots above are from XnView - image viewer and it work very good there, it's clear and intuitive, I use this program for batch rename now, but it should be definitely also in FC.
Change Case: All First Characters Uppercase
(optionally ignoring the extension)
Extension should be usually lower case, but if the original file looks like this "FILE NUMBER 1.JPG", result would be "File Number 1.JPG", but we(?) need this "File Number 1.jpg". Also XnView's "First Letters Uppercase" works like this.

Therefore I have suggested "Partially mixed case" (name mixed, extension lower) here:

http://forum.freecommander.com/viewtopic.php?t=96

I support also the other suggestions.

User avatar
Fad
Posts: 137
Joined: 21.10.2007, 16:22
Location: England

#5 Post by Fad » 09.11.2007, 10:45

Yes, that`s it...I missed that post originally.

gmacri
Posts: 10
Joined: 23.10.2007, 02:39
Location: Argentina

Batch rename window: where is it?

#6 Post by gmacri » 12.11.2007, 16:22

:( I've make an attempt to open the batch rename window as in the picture above.
I selected some files and pressed F2 button but I only get the window with only one file rename possibility.
¿Can you tell me how to open the batch rename window?

Thank you

Best regards

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4133
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

#7 Post by Dreamer » 12.11.2007, 20:08

Hello gmacri,

please read the forum rules first - this is just a feature request - not implemented yet! You can only add your support here, if you like this suggestion.

ckit
Posts: 1
Joined: 23.11.2007, 02:33
Location: Australia

#8 Post by ckit » 23.11.2007, 05:28

I support Dreamer's request for Mass Rename, this is a "must-have" for 2008.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4133
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

#9 Post by Dreamer » 23.11.2007, 23:17

Hi ckit! Welcome to the FreeCommander forum. :)

Mr-Fly
Posts: 158
Joined: 13.10.2007, 22:55

#10 Post by Mr-Fly » 19.01.2008, 12:17

I would like this feature, too.

In my eyes it should have not only replace features but also some insert-characters-features.
What I do pretty often is, naming some files to eg:
2008-01_xxxx which have been written or scanned in february 2008.
Right now I have Antrenamer in the tools menu for this task, but it is like all, external and therefor not portable like freecommander.
http://www.antp.be/software/renamer

Kind Regards
Thorsten

Jorpheus
Posts: 3
Joined: 07.03.2008, 17:25

#11 Post by Jorpheus » 07.03.2008, 17:30

Maybe throw in a few presets, ie the most frequent renaming operations. Regular expressions would be nice, too.

screenhog
Posts: 3
Joined: 12.03.2008, 23:31

#12 Post by screenhog » 12.03.2008, 23:41

I think the batch rename option would be great particularly with the uppercase option. I have to have files with the uppercase letter at the start of each word in the file name and currently go through by hand and do the rename. If the uppercase option could be used as a function by itself as well would be even better ie select a list of files and change the leading letter of words in the file name to uppercase.

ScanxTaz
Posts: 12
Joined: 20.03.2008, 14:37

Batch Renaming ? +1 !

#13 Post by ScanxTaz » 04.04.2008, 14:54

Yes,

I find the TC Batch renamer very complete, with the possibility to add some counter, range, date of creation, or anything else in the filename.

+1 for the replace tool ! Very important !

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4133
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

#14 Post by Dreamer » 04.05.2008, 23:14

Implemented as Multi rename in the new beta version!

Closed.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests