591 - SendTo popup hotkeys bug?

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

591 - SendTo popup hotkeys bug?

#1 Post by AEN007 » 22.06.2012, 19:41

22June2012
AEN007 wrote:It would be really slick if the SendTo popup menu(s) invoked by the AppsKey in FreeComm
worked like the SendTo popup menu(s) invoked by the AppsKey in Windows Explorer.

The AppsKey popup menu executes keyboard hotkeys - either &hotkeys or the first letter of each menu item.
In Windows Explorer the SendTo popup menu(s) work the same way.
The SendTo popup menu(s) under all WinEx alternatives I have ever tried
do NOT work like the AppsKey popup menu. There are NO hotkeys ...

It would be really slick if the SendTo popup menu invoked by the AppsKey in FreeComm
executed &hotkeys like the AppsKey popup menu does.
Greetings.
Today I happened to notice that the FrCXE SendTo popup has hotkey functionality!
... sort of ... I presume this functionality has not accidentally come into being ...
The functionality only works when the first item in (the active level) of the popup is NOT a folder ...
so, I reorded my SendTo items accordingly; but
I presume this SendTo popup hotkey functionality should be fully functional ...
i.e., the functionality should NOT be disabled if the first item in the active level of the popup is a folder ...

In any case the only file explorer (as far as I know) with this SendTo popup hotkey functionality
is / has been the MS-Windows "Windows Explorer",
so this functionality REALLY sets FrCXE appart from all others ... !!!
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: 591 - SendTo popup hotkeys bug?

#2 Post by AEN007 » 07.07.2012, 18:17

7July2012

The Goto Tab popup (also an original input from me) has the following bug/issues»
AEN007 wrote:
AEN007 wrote:The Goto Tab popup (which has &hotkeys!) now works for me!
That makes my life SO MUCH better!
(Any chance the popup might be able to sort/list the tabs in the same order as FrC?)
The Goto Tab popup does not handle multiple instances of tabs with the same "name".
The popup only lists the first instance.

It is GREAT that the popup has &hotkeys.
I usually have 8 or 9 or more tabs open and find it a bit difficult
to pickout the tab I want in the popup list.
The popup lists the items alphabetically.
I know the general location of the tab I want but not always the "name".

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2844
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 591 - SendTo popup hotkeys bug?

#3 Post by Marek » 08.07.2012, 09:07

Is it really so difficult to make one topic per bug?
If you like to help with your post, then please try it.

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: 591 - SendTo popup hotkeys bug?

#4 Post by AEN007 » 08.07.2012, 18:46

8July2012

I am not going to be fanatical/uptight about it ...
Whether you derive value from my posts is up to you ...

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 591 - SendTo popup hotkeys bug?

#5 Post by Scott_Y » 10.07.2012, 04:12

Submittingmultiplebugreportsinasingleforumpostisratherlikewritingwithoutspacesorpunctuationmarksitismuchhardertoread.

By contrast, submitting one bug report per forum post is much easier to read and take action on -- rather like using spaces. So whether your aim is to help Marek by submitting the reports, or to help yourself by possibly gaining a program which functions the way you would like, this is the recommended method.

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: 591 - SendTo popup hotkeys bug?

#6 Post by AEN007 » 25.07.2012, 01:32

AEN007 wrote:8July2012

I am not going to be fanatical/uptight about it ...
Whether you derive value from my posts is up to you ...

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: 591 - SendTo popup hotkeys bug?

#7 Post by AEN007 » 14.08.2012, 19:10

14August2012

Today I discovered that this bug also exists when FrCXE is in flat file view mode ...

Today I also wondered if flat file view could somehow make updating "portable apps" painless?
That is, I always use the portable version of an app/util or
search for / use portable apps/utils instead of apps/utils that require an install ...
(In some cases it is possible to "unpack"/"extract" files from installers and make the a/u "portable") ...
The "price I pay" is having to go through every subdirectory 1 by 1 to copy in the new files ...

Anyway, it would be great if when both FrCXE panes were in flat view
and the user did a copy operation, the files would be updated/overwritten in their actual location ...
now the copy operation just puts all the copied files in the root directory of the flat view ...
just a thought ...

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: 591 - SendTo popup hotkeys bug?

#8 Post by AEN007 » 20.02.2013, 15:16

20Februar2013
Regarding the items in the/my post below ...
... The FrCXE Goto Tab popup now handles multiple instances of tabs with the same "name";
however, (in my opinion) in backwards/reverse order.
That is, the popup lists lastly the 1st instance of a tab
when listing multiple instances of tabs with the same "name".
...
It is GREAT that the popup has &hotkeys.
I usually have 8 or 9 or more tabs open and find it a bit difficult
to pickout the tab I want in the popup list.
The popup lists the items alphabetically.
I know the general location of the tab I want but not always the "name".
AEN007 wrote:7July2012

The Goto Tab popup (also an original input from me) has the following bug/issues»
AEN007 wrote:The Goto Tab popup (which has &hotkeys!) now works for me!
That makes my life SO MUCH better!
(Any chance the popup might be able to sort/list the tabs in the same order as FrCXE?)
The Goto Tab popup does not handle multiple instances of tabs with the same "name".
The popup only lists the first instance.

It is GREAT that the popup has &hotkeys.
I usually have 8 or 9 or more tabs open and find it a bit difficult
to pickout the tab I want in the popup list.
The popup lists the items alphabetically.
I know the general location of the tab I want but not always the "name".

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: 591 - SendTo popup hotkeys bug?

#9 Post by AEN007 » 20.02.2013, 15:21

20February2013
It seems FrCXE.609 still has the "bugs" described below ...
AEN007 wrote:... the FrCXE SendTo popup has hotkey functionality!
... sort of ... I presume this functionality has not accidentally come into being ...
The functionality only works when the first item in (the active level) of the popup is NOT a folder ...
so, I reorded my SendTo items accordingly; but
I presume this SendTo popup hotkey functionality should be fully functional ...
i.e., the functionality should NOT be disabled if the first item in the active level of the popup is a folder ...

In any case the only file explorer (as far as I know) with this SendTo popup hotkey functionality
is / has been the MS-Windows "Windows Explorer",
so this functionality REALLY sets FrCXE appart from all others ... !!!
AEN007 wrote:Today I discovered that this bug also exists when FrCXE is in flat file view mode ...

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: 591 - GoTo&SendTo popup hotkeys bug?

#10 Post by AEN007 » 03.06.2013, 09:12

3June2013
I would also like to add the/my previous/above items
that (I think) it would be appropriate/slick(er)
if the GoTo popup did NOT assign a &hotkey to the current/active tab ...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests