Dragging when "Full row select" is enabled

Bugs and issues.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Free4all
Posts: 187
Joined: 30.09.2014, 19:12

Dragging when "Full row select" is enabled

#1 Post by Free4all » 11.06.2017, 19:52

Even with "Full row select" enabled, FreeCommander requires dragging from the actual filename text (or icon) for drag-and-drop functions.

Is there an option to allow dragging from anywhere in the row? This is especially useful for files with short filenames.

If it's not an option, can you create an option or just enable this by default when "Full row select" is enabled?

Strawberry
Posts: 3
Joined: 13.11.2017, 17:12

Re: Dragging when "Full row select" is enabled

#2 Post by Strawberry » 13.11.2017, 18:27

Hello,

I absolutely second that, this is so frustrating!

This bug has already been raised by other people in the past:
"Issue with file drag and drop":
http://forum.freecommander.com/viewtopi ... =19&t=7415
"drag&drop is not working reliably":
http://forum.freecommander.com/viewtopi ... =19&t=7666

Please that would be great if this very annoying bug could be fixed as it is very frustrating indeed!

The software is great btw, way much better than the default Windows file explorer (it shows that one smart person on his/her own can do way much better than a multi-billion dollars company with thousands of employees!).
But if a fix for that very annoying bug could be released that would make this software perfect, thank you so much in advance, fingers crossed :)

This is optional further reading about this bug:
I work with a pane on the left and a pane on the right and I usually move files from the pane on the left to the pane on the right: this bug means I have to position the mouse all the way left (even more so if the file name is short!) to the file name on the left pane then drag and drop all the way across the left pane to the right pane. If the bug was not there I could simply position the mouse on the right of the selected row and then drag the item over a much shorter distance to the right pane: the effort would be so much reduced + this would avoid the very regular frustration of the drag and drop failing completely when missing to point on the file name or icon rather than the selected row!

Config: similar to other people i.e.
Windows 7 Home Premium 32 bits SP1
FreeCommander XE 2017 Build 760 32-bit public beta
All these relevant options checked:
"Activate drag&drop in the file list"
"Activate drag&drop in the tree"
"Enable selection by mouse dragging"
"Full row select"

Strawberry
Posts: 3
Joined: 13.11.2017, 17:12

Re: Dragging when "Full row select" is enabled

#3 Post by Strawberry » 06.02.2018, 18:30

Very disappointed this bug is still there in version 770.
This is a massive usability issue for me that makes FreeCommander very inconvenient to use.

Because of this bug I've had to revert back to using the default MS Windows File Explorer:
I simply wrote an AutoHotkey script which on a particular key shortcut
opens 2 standard MS Windows File Explorer side by side with appropriate sizes
and there's no such drag and drop bug with MS Windows File Explorer.

Fingers crossed this drag and drop bug will be fixed in a future version of FreeCommander
and that would allow me to use that software again.
But I am not holding my breath as this bug and its associated bug reports (including this present one)
have so far been completely and consistently ignored by FreeCommander developers through the years ,-(

Kind regards

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2264
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Dragging when "Full row select" is enabled

#4 Post by Marek » 09.02.2018, 17:28

This is not a bug. This is implemented in this way.
For many users this is safer - accidental movs are avoided.

I added a new option for the next release to extend the drag operation to whole row.

Free4all
Posts: 187
Joined: 30.09.2014, 19:12

Re: Dragging when "Full row select" is enabled

#5 Post by Free4all » 10.02.2018, 21:10

Marek wrote:
09.02.2018, 17:28
I added a new option for the next release to extend the drag operation to whole row.
Thanks Marek! Looking forward to it!

Strawberry
Posts: 3
Joined: 13.11.2017, 17:12

Re: Dragging when "Full row select" is enabled

#6 Post by Strawberry » 12.02.2018, 00:35

Seconding Free4all again, thank you so much Marek, also looking forward to it :-)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest