Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

Bugs and issues.
Post Reply
Message
Author
fjelsten
Posts: 39
Joined: 02.12.2015, 14:55

Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

#1 Post by fjelsten » 04.12.2015, 20:34

I have a 2 pane setup with the Quick View showing in the "opposite" pane. I also use the uLister plugin and the Oracle viewers.

When I do Ctrl+Q, the quick view window opens - but I cannot put focus in it using the keyboard (so I can scroll in text). I saw someone else mention this was a problem in the 2009 also

FreeCommander XE 2015 Build 700 32-bit public beta, WIndows 10 64 bit (was also a problem in the release version)
(Lifetime donor)

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4057
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

#2 Post by Dreamer » 05.12.2015, 20:05

Confirmed, but I'm not sure if this is a bug...

I suggest Shift+Tab or Ctrl+Tab by default, it would be intuitive.

horst.epp
Posts: 175
Joined: 15.11.2008, 19:18

Re: Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

#3 Post by horst.epp » 06.12.2015, 09:45

Why using the keyboard for this ?
I just hold the mouse over the quick view panel and I can scroll with the mouse weel.
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2020 Update, Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.508)
Total Commander 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.992 (x64)
FreeCommander XE 2020 Build 828 64-bit donor

fjelsten
Posts: 39
Joined: 02.12.2015, 14:55

Re: Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

#4 Post by fjelsten » 06.12.2015, 10:51

Well, I guess one of the reasons is that to the software is designed for keyboard use - and using the keyboard is faster (in this context)
(Lifetime donor)

horst.epp
Posts: 175
Joined: 15.11.2008, 19:18

Re: Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

#5 Post by horst.epp » 06.12.2015, 16:42

fjelsten wrote:Well, I guess one of the reasons is that to the software is designed for keyboard use - and using the keyboard is faster (in this context)
I'm using the keyboard extensively in Total Commander and Free Commander
but scrolling with keyboard keys is in no way faster as using the mouse wheel.
With the mouse wheel you can scroll slowly and also very fast, try this with the keyboard :)
Windows 10 Home x64 May 2020 Update, Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.508)
Total Commander 9.51 x64 / x86, Everything 1.4.1.992 (x64)
FreeCommander XE 2020 Build 828 64-bit donor

fjelsten
Posts: 39
Joined: 02.12.2015, 14:55

Re: Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

#6 Post by fjelsten » 06.12.2015, 16:45

Arrow down and PgDown
(Lifetime donor)

joby_toss
Posts: 1345
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

#7 Post by joby_toss » 18.12.2015, 16:48

Build 704 donor: New command added - actViewQuickViewSetFocus: Set focus to quick view panel; Activate quick view panel.

I've added Ctrl+` hotkey for this command and it's working nice. Thank's!

fjelsten
Posts: 39
Joined: 02.12.2015, 14:55

Re: Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

#8 Post by fjelsten » 18.12.2015, 16:52

Look forward to trying it
(Lifetime donor)

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4057
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

#9 Post by Dreamer » 19.12.2015, 19:30

It works in 704, but if quick view is active, keyboard shortcuts for the viewer don't work, I tried also with default settings, then it's the shortcut quite useless...

I miss also something to show which panel is active, to see if the quick view is active or not, perhaps at least the title background color change the same way as active/inactive panel...

fjelsten
Posts: 39
Joined: 02.12.2015, 14:55

Re: Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

#10 Post by fjelsten » 31.12.2015, 16:18

It does work setting focus to the panel, thanks!

I agree with the problems:
[*]No shortcuts work
[*]Missing indication of where focus is

Thanks
(Lifetime donor)

cpop
Posts: 1
Joined: 01.06.2016, 18:39

Re: Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

#11 Post by cpop » 01.06.2016, 18:42

Did this shortcut make it in the official build? I have FreeCommander XE 2016 Build 715 32-bit public and Ctrl + ` doesn't seem to work.

joby_toss
Posts: 1345
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Cannot focus in the Quick VIew pane using keyboard

#12 Post by joby_toss » 02.06.2016, 11:00

Yes, it's available in build 715, but you have to set it yourself:

Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: flpgdt and 5 guests