How to start quick search?

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
madoues
Posts: 15
Joined: 10.03.2016, 01:28

How to start quick search?

#1 Post by madoues » 29.03.2017, 15:47

Hi,

After years of using FC and going back to explorer to do a search,
I would like learn how to do a Quick Search directly in FC. :oops:

So how do I start "Quick Search"? Where is it? :?
Believe or not, I haven't been able to find this in the documentation or from an online search.
I am missing something here.

It would be nice to have a spot next to quick filter to enter search strings.
Or maybe a button to toggle between quick filter/search?

Dan
Last edited by madoues on 29.03.2017, 19:04, edited 1 time in total.


madoues
Posts: 15
Joined: 10.03.2016, 01:28

Re: How to start quick filter?

#3 Post by madoues » 29.03.2017, 19:03

Yes, I saw that. It doesn't answer my question, though.

There is something that I am not seeing or understanding.
Maybe it's obvious, but I just don't see it.

Is there a box for quick search? I haven't seen one.
Is it the same box as quick filter? If this is the case, how do you get it to work?
Is there a key combination to show the quick search box?
Is the quick search box the same as the normal search box? Would defeat the purpose wouldn't it?

Dan

madoues
Posts: 15
Joined: 10.03.2016, 01:28

Re: How to start quick search?

#4 Post by madoues » 29.03.2017, 19:06

I changed the title of my topic. Sorry, my bad.
I had written "quick filter" instead of "quick search".
Dan

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3212
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: How to start quick search?

#5 Post by Dreamer » 29.03.2017, 19:43

Just start typing to start quick search, for example, "fre" in FreeCommander install folder.

madoues
Posts: 15
Joined: 10.03.2016, 01:28

Re: How to start quick search?

#6 Post by madoues » 29.03.2017, 20:53

Dreamer wrote:Just start typing to start quick search, for example, "fre" in FreeCommander install folder.

That's it!
Thanks Dreamer.
It is simple, but not indicated anywhere that I could find.

However, it doesn't work exactly like the Windows explorer search function.
Filter is also different. It does search, but displays the filtered files, only if you are in the right folder.
As most of you may know, explorer search (using "filename:name") displays all files meeting the criteria,
including those in subfolders, as well as where they are, i.e., full path to them.

Is there a way in FC to achieve the same result quickly?
I often look for a file(s) that I don't know or forgot where it is in the folder structure.
I have been using explorer for that sole function for years, and use FC for almost everything else.

Dan
It would be nice to just use FC for everything.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3212
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: How to start quick search?

#7 Post by Dreamer » 29.03.2017, 22:02

You're welcome.

Explorer's "quick search" works the same as FC's "quick search".

Explorer's Search you're talking about is something between classic Search (Ctrl+F) and Quick search.

There are two ways how to achieve something similar...

1.
- Ctrl+F
- type text
- Enter
- Ctrl+E to export the results to main FC window
- or use arrow keys and press Space to display the selected item in FC, in it's actual location

2.
- Ctrl+B (to activate plain view)
- start typing the text of the file*

* If you don't want to search only from the beginning, uncheck the option "Searched fraction must exist at the beginning of the text" (click the link below for more info).

http://www.freecommander.com/fchelpxe/e ... arter.html

madoues
Posts: 15
Joined: 10.03.2016, 01:28

Re: How to start quick search?

#8 Post by madoues » 30.03.2017, 18:53

Dreamer wrote:You're welcome.

Explorer's "quick search" works the same as FC's "quick search".

Explorer's Search you're talking about is something between classic Search (Ctrl+F) and Quick search.

There are two ways how to achieve something similar...

1.
- Ctrl+F
- type text
- Enter
- Ctrl+E to export the results to main FC window
- or use arrow keys and press Space to display the selected item in FC, in it's actual location

2.
- Ctrl+B (to activate plain view)
- start typing the text of the file*

* If you don't want to search only from the beginning, uncheck the option "Searched fraction must exist at the beginning of the text" (click the link below for more info).

http://www.freecommander.com/fchelpxe/e ... arter.html

Thanks again Dreamer! That's pretty slick.

The second is not exactly the same as it points to the first item that fulfills the criteria.
The first one however, is almost exactly the same as it lists only files fulfilling the criteria.
Right-click/properties shows the path.
I will definitely gives this a try and probably will be able to do away with explorer.

I should spend more time learning some of the intricacies of FC; it's a very powerful program.

Cheers,
Dan

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3212
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: How to start quick search?

#9 Post by Dreamer » 30.03.2017, 19:42

madoues wrote:
Dreamer wrote:The first one however, is almost exactly the same as it lists only files fulfilling the criteria.
Right-click/properties shows the path.
You don't need to open Properties to show path, open the “Settings (F12) → View → Column profiles” and create new profile, click the button “Condition” and select “File container <cart>”. Then click the “Define columns” button and add the column “Path” to the list of columns. You can remove some columns or/and move the “Path” item up in the list, if you want. Move the Profile to the top of the list, if needed, using the Up button. Click the Apply button.

You can show the path also in the status bar.

Anyway, I think I found bug, it doesn't work good sometimes...

madoues
Posts: 15
Joined: 10.03.2016, 01:28

Re: How to start quick search?

#10 Post by madoues » 30.03.2017, 19:48

Dreamer wrote:
madoues wrote:
Dreamer wrote:The first one however, is almost exactly the same as it lists only files fulfilling the criteria.
Right-click/properties shows the path.
You don't need to open Properties to show path, open the “Settings (F12) → View → Column profiles” and create new profile, click the button “Condition” and select “File container <cart>”. Then click the “Define columns” button and add the column “Path” to the list of columns. You can remove some columns or/and move the “Path” item up in the list, if you want. Move the Profile to the top of the list, if needed, using the Up button. Click the Apply button.

You can show the path also in the status bar.

Anyway, I think I found bug, it doesn't work good sometimes...
Super, I'll try that. Dan

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3212
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: How to start quick search?

#11 Post by Dreamer » 30.03.2017, 19:50

As I said, I think I found some bug, I'll try to reproduce it with default settings and will report them, the first one works only the first time, then it stops working...

madoues
Posts: 15
Joined: 10.03.2016, 01:28

Re: How to start quick search?

#12 Post by madoues » 30.03.2017, 20:31

Dreamer wrote:As I said, I think I found some bug, I'll try to reproduce it with default settings and will report them, the first one works only the first time, then it stops working...
That's good.
I just had my first use for it and it worked. I just used it the once, though.
Dan

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3212
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: How to start quick search?

#13 Post by Dreamer » 30.03.2017, 20:46

Yea, it works the first time, here is the bug report.

Workaround is easy, switch to List view and then back to Details view, F9, F9.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests