How to create hard links in FreeCommander?

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Free4all
Posts: 354
Joined: 30.09.2014, 21:12

How to create hard links in FreeCommander?

#1 Post by Free4all » 23.10.2020, 19:16

Two related questions:

1. How can one create hard links in FreeCommander?

2. The English language strings file contains "57072=Create hard link if possible - copy operation", so it seems possible, but I'm not seeing that string used anywhere in the UI. Where is it used?

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2954
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: How to create hard links in FreeCommander?

#2 Post by Marek » 23.10.2020, 22:59

2. The English language strings file contains "57072=Create hard link if possible - copy operation", so it seems possible, but I'm not seeing that string used anywhere in the UI. Where is it used?
- Set copy operation to execute by FreeCommander
- Set "Use Vista method for all drives"
- In copy dialog check the "Settings" tab

Free4all
Posts: 354
Joined: 30.09.2014, 21:12

Re: How to create hard links in FreeCommander?

#3 Post by Free4all » 15.11.2020, 02:32

Thanks Marek.

Is the "Vista method" still a good idea to use with Win7 and Win10?

What does "Vista method" really mean? Should we rename it?

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4257
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

Re: How to create hard links in FreeCommander?

#4 Post by Dreamer » 15.11.2020, 15:40

Yes, you can use the "Vista method" in Windows 7, 8, and 10.

I agree it could be confusing for users, which name you suggest? It works in Vista and higher, so perhaps:
- Vista and higher method
- Vista+ method
- Vista/7/8/10 method
- New method
- New Windows method

For text above the drop down menu perhaps add all versions:
- Vista/7/8/10
- Windows Vista/7/8/10

pontiacbandit
Posts: 1
Joined: 21.11.2020, 00:00

Re: How to create hard links in FreeCommander?

#5 Post by pontiacbandit » 21.11.2020, 00:08

1. How can one create hard links in FreeCommander?
As far as I'm aware FreeCommander itself doesn't support that, but I use the Link Shell Extension for that. It integrates neatly into the right click menu and drag & drop functionality of the Windows explorer and thus can be used just the same via FreeCommander.

The only bummer is that FreeCommander doesn't display some icons properly. For instance, my Windows Explorer uses an altered icon for junctions but in FreeCommander they look just like ordinary folders.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 28 guests