Check for Updates broke?

Bugs and issues.
Post Reply
Message
Author
hamasaki
Posts: 18
Joined: 10.02.2016, 08:53

Check for Updates broke?

#1 Post by hamasaki » 15.12.2021, 09:04

Since the last update the 'Check for Updates' option doesn't work. Nothing happens now.

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 3328
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Check for Updates broke?

#2 Post by Marek » 15.12.2021, 21:59

You are right.
Currently it does not show the message "FreeCommander is up to date".
The new version message will be correctly showed.

hamasaki
Posts: 18
Joined: 10.02.2016, 08:53

Re: Check for Updates broke?

#3 Post by hamasaki » 17.12.2021, 03:18

Thanks Marek.

rob9898
Posts: 2
Joined: 01.01.2022, 21:07

Re: Check for Updates broke?

#4 Post by rob9898 » 02.01.2022, 21:53

Check for updates is still broken in 860 for me though you said it works on your end. Here is broke a version or so back so I think it was 859. Anyway updating to 860 did not fix it. Possibly whatever caused it to break in the early version prevents it from being corrected by the up. No other issues with this computer.

As a 16 time Microsoft MVP specializing in chasing bits while troubleshooting BSOD's and hardware-related events I think it is fair to say that I am a well-versed user. Though definitely admit I am not a programmer and certainly do not know it all (no one does) I think I would have a clue if the issue were not actually with 860 and the previous version. No 3rd party antivirus or other known problematic programs run on this machine for which I maintain a Clean Environment.

Please take another look on your end.

Thanks,

Rob

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 3328
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Check for Updates broke?

#5 Post by Marek » 03.01.2022, 19:44

Could someone else test this function?

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 5107
Joined: 19.08.2007, 23:40

Re: Check for Updates broke?

#6 Post by Dreamer » 03.01.2022, 20:09

It works good here, tested 860 donor and 858 public version, correct window was opened in both cases.

Minor issue, in 858 version, link "Full list of changes" opens the site without https, it's "Not secure".

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 3328
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Check for Updates broke?

#7 Post by Marek » 06.01.2022, 20:07

The automatic check for updates will be delayed if the creation date of the FC settings folder is within the last 30 days.
The manual check works always.

rob9898
Posts: 2
Joined: 01.01.2022, 21:07

Re: Check for Updates broke?

#8 Post by rob9898 » 14.01.2022, 02:35

Check for Updates working for me now. (863)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests