Copy Move Pop Up Dialog Box

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
wrbird
Posts: 221
Joined: 01.11.2010, 13:34
Location: CO, USA

Copy Move Pop Up Dialog Box

#1 Post by wrbird » 24.02.2019, 21:29

I've been using donor version FreeCommander for years, but I haven't had to re-set it up on a new computer for years also. For some reason I can't find the setting where dragging and dropping a file brings up a dialog box that gives the option to rename the file. Can anyone help me with this? Thanks.

Free4all
Posts: 246
Joined: 30.09.2014, 19:12

Re: Copy Move Pop Up Dialog Box

#2 Post by Free4all » 25.02.2019, 00:49

Hmmm... the title of your post is "Copy Move Pop Up Dialog Box", but in the text you describe wanting to rename a file on drag and drop. Are you looking to copy or move a file and at the same time be given the option to rename it?

wrbird
Posts: 221
Joined: 01.11.2010, 13:34
Location: CO, USA

Re: Copy Move Pop Up Dialog Box

#3 Post by wrbird » 25.02.2019, 01:55

Are you looking to copy or move a file and at the same time be given the option to rename it?

Exactly! Sorry I wasn't clear.
Thanks

Odamn-Ete
Posts: 50
Joined: 28.06.2017, 05:10

Re: Copy Move Pop Up Dialog Box

#4 Post by Odamn-Ete » 25.02.2019, 01:57

Maybe you can find the answer here:
https://freecommander.com/fchelpxe/en/Copy.html

wrbird
Posts: 221
Joined: 01.11.2010, 13:34
Location: CO, USA

Re: Copy Move Pop Up Dialog Box

#5 Post by wrbird » 25.02.2019, 14:53

Thanks for your help. It appears that when doing a drag and drop copy or move command there's no option to set to get the dialog as you do when doing an F5 or F6 command. If my conclusion is incorrect please let me know because I'd still like to get that dialog even when I'm dragging and dropping.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3409
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Copy Move Pop Up Dialog Box

#6 Post by Dreamer » 25.02.2019, 19:57

What exactly you need after the operation, change the path or name, or both - or just select if you want copy or move?

Drag&drop use Windows file operations, therefore the FC operation dialog can't be shown.

You can use the splitter bar buttons "Copy with dialog" and "Move with dialog", as workaround (you need to use FC operations in settings).

wrbird
Posts: 221
Joined: 01.11.2010, 13:34
Location: CO, USA

Re: Copy Move Pop Up Dialog Box

#7 Post by wrbird » 26.02.2019, 00:09

I want the FC dialog box to pop up when I do a drag and drop operation. However, I already found out this isn't possible. Thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 70 guests