XE considerations ...

Discussion and questions - donor version.

Alternatives to XE Shift-AnyLetter DriveGoTo

1) No Change ... Use Shift-AnyLetter
6
38%
2) Ctrl-Shift
0
No votes
3) Alt-Shift
0
No votes
4) Alt-Ctrl
0
No votes
5) Alt-Ctrl-Shift
0
No votes
6) Enable option to choose any one of the above ...
9
56%
7) Other
1
6%
 
Total votes: 16

Message
Author
User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 16:52

Re: XE considerations ...

#16 Post by AEN007 » 10.12.2011, 15:06

10December2011

Greetings.

Is (Will) there (be) some way to block auto refresh when
the location is somewhere on the network without a drive letter?
e.g., \\H\Hx\here\there

It would be really slick if the SendTo popup menu(s) invoked by the AppsKey in FreeComm
worked like the SendTo popup menu(s) invoked by the AppsKey in Windows Explorer.

The AppsKey popup menu executes keyboard hotkeys - either &hotkeys or the first letter of each menu item.
In Windows Explorer the SendTo popup menu(s) work the same way.
The SendTo popup menu(s) under all WinEx alternatives I have ever tried
do NOT work like the AppsKey popup menu. There are NO hotkeys ...

It would be really slick if the SendTo popup menu invoked by the AppsKey in FreeComm
executed &hotkeys like the AppsKey popup menu does.
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 16:52

Re: XE considerations ...

#17 Post by AEN007 » 18.02.2012, 14:17

18February2012

Greetings.
Another FCXE search issue I have encountered is that
the the Search Popup (in its own window) intercepts keyboard input made
when FCXE (NOT the Search Popup) is active
IF one (or more) of the found search results is highlighted/selected.

If I highlight a found search result, then do "Focus" (in active tab),
I have to go back to the search results and deselect ALL results;
otherwise the the Search Popup (in its own window) intercepts keyboard input
I make when FCXE (NOT the Search Popup) is active ...
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 16:52

Re: XE considerations ...

#18 Post by AEN007 » 19.02.2012, 10:08

19February2012

Greetings.
Yesterday I found the latest FrCXE.570 ...

The Goto Tab popup (which has &hotkeys!) now works for me!
That makes my life SO MUCH better!
(Any chance the popup might be able to sort/list the tabs in the same order as FrC?)
The highlighted/selected item(s) now (seem(s) to) stay(s) highlighted/selected after a refresh.
That was driving me crazy before ...
ShowFullPathInCaption=1 is now obsolete.

Some open items I previously posted here & elsewhere follow below»

I still have no infotips except on a direct mouseover.
The hotkey to toggle infotips works, however.

This JetAudio contextmenu bug still remains open.

The default sort order setting for custom columns still seems to have no effect.

Shift-Tab in the Settings popup still does not move to the left side.
What does "Count of worker threads" mean?

FrC is still limited by the uncustomizable hotkeys for favorites -
which also limits FrC to only 10 favorites.

Is (Will) there (be) some way to block auto refresh when
the location is somewhere on the network without a drive letter?
e.g., \\H\Hx\here\there

It would be really slick if the SendTo popup menu(s) invoked by the AppsKey in FreeComm
worked like the SendTo popup menu(s) invoked by the AppsKey in Windows Explorer.

I wish I could use hh:mm:ss for files like exe and use hh:mm for all others ...
would work fine with the display custom conditions ...

What/How about a split 2/3-1/3 hotkey?
What/How about second pane resizes as pane1 variable name column size changes?
What/How about un/hide StatusBar? - That is VERY common feature ...
What/How about a un/hide TitleBar hotkey? - IrfanView has that, for example ...
What/How about a un/hide MenuBar hotkey? - IrfanView has that, for example ...

If I go between tabs or panes, already highlighted/selected items are not immediately responsive.
For example, I have to hit F2(Rename) at least twice.

User avatar
BGM
Posts: 587
Joined: 14.10.2008, 23:42
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: XE considerations ...

#19 Post by BGM » 19.02.2012, 19:41

AEN007 wrote:10December2011

Greetings.

Is (Will) there (be) some way to block auto refresh when
the location is somewhere on the network without a drive letter?
e.g., \\H\Hx\here\there
In Options/View/File-Folder List, in the "Refresh" tab, there is a box for "Ignore these drives for auto refresh:".
I notice that the example usage is "g,k,UNC"
You have indicated a UNC path above.

That should take care of the auto-refresh you refer to. :)
(Windows 7 Professional 64bit)

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 16:52

Re: XE considerations ...

#20 Post by AEN007 » 19.02.2012, 20:34

19February2012

Greetings.
Today I had already noticed the new example wording you quote,
but I don't know what "UNC" means.
It is (still) not clear to me how to format
the entry for a network location without a drive letter ...

User avatar
BGM
Posts: 587
Joined: 14.10.2008, 23:42
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Contact:

Re: XE considerations ...

#21 Post by BGM » 19.02.2012, 21:02

a unc path is any network path that isn't mapped. Here are some examples:

\\/server\folde\folder
\\anotherserver\folder\path\file.ext

However, this looks like a unc path too.
\\H\Hx\here\there

but FC won't take this unless \\H is a network location.
so you can try this:
\\mycomputer\h\here\there
where "mycomputer" is the name of your computer.

for examply, my computer is named "BROTHERGABRIEL", so if I want to get into the c drive, via unc path, I can do this on XP:
\\brothergabriel\c$
which is the same as:
C:\

I'm not sure how that works in Windows7.

Why don't you want a path with a drive letter?
If you just want the drive that FC is on, you can do this:
%FcSrcDrive%\here\there
(Windows 7 Professional 64bit)

Karol
Posts: 779
Joined: 19.08.2007, 12:05

Re: XE considerations ...

#22 Post by Karol » 19.02.2012, 21:31

It is (still) not clear to me how to format
the entry for a network location without a drive letter ...
Simply write UNC for all network paths started with \\.

Karol
Posts: 779
Joined: 19.08.2007, 12:05

Re: XE considerations ...

#23 Post by Karol » 20.02.2012, 09:29

The default sort order setting for custom columns still seems to have no effect.
It works for me. It is significant only if you change sorting to other column.
Shift-Tab in the Settings popup still does not move to the left side.
Ctrl+TAB?

What does "Count of worker threads" mean?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thread_pool_pattern

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 04:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: XE considerations ...

#24 Post by Scott_Y » 21.02.2012, 00:30

AEN007 wrote: The default sort order setting for custom columns still seems to have no effect.
See if viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3630 describes your problem. It so, it was fixed nicely in release 575 (you report using 570).

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 16:52

Re: XE considerations ...

#25 Post by AEN007 » 21.02.2012, 10:50

21February2012
BGM wrote:Why don't you want a path with a drive letter?
Long story short ... I have more than 1 XP laptop.
My laptop HDDs are 250gb or 320gb.
Each HDD has more than 1 partition.
Not all my XP laptops have only 1 internal HDD.
On my laptops with XPPro, I do not use simple file sharing.
I have many NW locations ... too many to always use drive mapping ...

Anyway, I still cannot disable autorefresh via UNC.
On XP laptop "I", I tried \\I\G\rbus & \\I\\G\rbus
where \\G\rbus is the UNC location on XP laptop "G" ...
Karol wrote:
The default sort order setting for custom columns still seems to have no effect.
It works for me.
It (still) does not work for me
Karol wrote:It is significant only if you change sorting to other column.
Yes, that is the point I made in my original posting.
Maybe I have the filename column sorted ascending.
If I have the modified date default sort order set to descending,
when I then switch the sort column to mod-date,
FrC should first sort mod-date descending;
bur FrC first sorts the new column the same way the previous column was sorted.
Scott_Y wrote:See if viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3630 describes your problem. It so, it was fixed nicely in release 575 (you report using 570).
570 is (still) the latest version downloading.
I use the install-free / zip download ...
Karol wrote:
Shift-Tab in the Settings popup still does not move to the left side.
Ctrl+TAB?
CTRL-Tab it is ... but
because Tab goes between sections, I expected that Shift-Tab would also.
Ctrl-Tab could/(would normally) be used to switch between tabs of a setting category
... like General/Icons/Refresh/Color&Font/Items color/Sorting
(I know it is possible to Tab to a category tab & then do left/right to switch tabs ...)

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 16:52

Re: XE considerations ...

#26 Post by AEN007 » 21.02.2012, 10:57

21February2012

Greetings.

I spent some time the previous 2 days
working on ways to open search results via the/a contextmenu
into various (portable/freeware) file explorers.
Sometimes I use search utilities that are not a part of a file-explorer.
I have FrC set to "single instance". I can open search results into FrC,
but always/only into the active tab of the active pane.
xplorer² (the only freeware file-ex I have encountered
that is anywhere near the quality of FrC)
has a setting to (always) open files/folders into a new tab.
Maybe FrC might (want to) develop a similar ini setting?
or maybe there is already such an ini setting?

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 04:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: XE considerations ...

#27 Post by Scott_Y » 21.02.2012, 19:36

AEN007 wrote:570 is (still) the latest version downloading.
Yes, 570 is the latest public beta. If you want to benefit from improvements made between public betas, then you should become a donor http://www.freecommander.com/fc_donation_en.htm

Besides returning something to Marek for all the work he has so generously invested and continues to invest in providing us with such tremendous software, you will also make your comments more efficient by focusing on the latest version, not "yesterday's" problems. A donation is well worth it!

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 04:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: XE considerations ...

#28 Post by Scott_Y » 21.02.2012, 19:39

AEN007 wrote:
Scott_Y wrote:See if viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3630 describes your problem. It so, it was fixed nicely in release 575 (you report using 570).
570 is (still) the latest version downloading.
The question remains: Does that thread describe your problem?

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 16:52

Re: XE considerations ...

#29 Post by AEN007 » 22.02.2012, 00:07

21February2012

This stuff is called freeware.
If I setup/open a lemonade stand,
put up sign that says FREE lemonade - Donations welcome!
and then give dirty looks to everyone who takes some free lemonade ...
well, that is borderline psychotic.

"Keep freeware free - make a donation" is also pretzel logic.

Everytime someone posts @ the x² Lite/free forums,
some dedicated user/supporter replies that
the best solution is to buy a lifetime license for x².
Seeing as how last year,
Nikos voided lifetime licenses of many paying customers,
it seems to me even more appropriate
to have never bought a lifetime license.

It is also my opinion that my postings provide
value to Marek by helping Marek improve FrC.
The better FrC is, the more likely that some others might donate ...

I provide feedback/input/value how/when I can.
The best thing about freeware is that it gives
the software corporations cut-throat competition -
which has potential benefits to every PC user ...
free anti-virus, free firewalls, free browsers ... even a free O/S

I make posts about the latest version available to me ...
and will continue to do so.
Maybe you should avoid reading any more of my posts ...

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 04:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: XE considerations ...

#30 Post by Scott_Y » 22.02.2012, 01:12

AEN007 wrote:Maybe you should avoid reading any more of my posts
My dear AEN007, I'm afraid you have missed my point entirely. Let me try again.

You asked for help. Help was offered. It so happens that the solution is probably in an intermediate beta. It was explained how you could avail of that solution now if you wish. If you don't care to make a donation, fine. If you want to wait, you can still enjoy the solution for free in the next public release -- it's entirely up to you. Marek is offering no bait-and-switch such as you describe for other software. And any user such as myself who extols the value of FC and even opines that it is worthy of a donation is offering appreciation for the author, not laying guilt on you. Nevertheless, if anything in my answer came across as a "dirty look," then I sincerely apologize -- it certainly was not intended that way.

Now back to your points regarding column sorting. Does viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3630 describe your problem?

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests