Refresh problems

Bugs and other issues or requests which have been resolved.
Post Reply
Message
Author
SurfRat
Posts: 17
Joined: 09.02.2011, 06:29

Refresh problems

#1 Post by SurfRat » 08.08.2016, 10:56

FC XE 726 64 bit
Win 10 1607 14393.10

I have been using FC exclusively for about 3 months on three separate machines. On all of them I sometimes get a refresh problem after a file operation whereby the window does not refresh. Pressing F5 Refresh (I have remapped this key) or restating FC fixes this issue. This is random and occurs 4 - 5 times a day.

My FC File/Folder List refresh settings are:

Auto refresh for general changes: Selected
Auto refresh for other changes: Selected

All other options in this tab are unselected.

Any help to fix this would be appreciated.

alf5000
Posts: 434
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: Refresh problems

#2 Post by alf5000 » 08.08.2016, 19:24

I can confirm that - but I can't reproduce it.
FCXE randomly doesn't refresh on its own, but manual refresh works.
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

alf5000
Posts: 434
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: Refresh problems

#3 Post by alf5000 » 15.08.2016, 17:08

found one way to reproduce the refresh problem - not always but very often :?:

1) Ctrl+B: switch to plain view
2) select a file located in a sub-folder (<-- this is the important part!)
3) "Wipe..." that file from the sub-folder
--> very often FCXE does not auto-refresh
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

SurfRat
Posts: 17
Joined: 09.02.2011, 06:29

Re: Refresh problems

#4 Post by SurfRat » 18.08.2016, 12:56

Alf5000 I can confirm your findings.

I have enabled "Refresh when FreeCommander is activated" and the situation seems to have improved. I am surprised as when I have refresh issues I am actively using the application e.g copy a file with FC and the file does not appear where I expect it to. Refreshing shows my copied file.

SurfRat
Posts: 17
Joined: 09.02.2011, 06:29

Re: Refresh problems

#5 Post by SurfRat » 01.09.2016, 09:27

Found a way to reliably reproduce this problem.

1. Navigate to C:\Windows\Temp
2. Select all files and press Delete key
3. Select 'Do this for all current items' then Continue
4. Yes to UAC prompt.
5. Any files that cannot be deleted say 'Do this for all current items' and select Skip. You might have to do this more than once.
6. If you get "Action cannot be completed...." select Cancel.
7. Note that nothing has changed in the file list.
8. Manual refresh and you will see some of the files have indeed been deleted.

I tested this in Windows Explorer and it refreshed correctly without a manual refresh.

Note that the refresh problem occurs on other folders as well but I can't reliably reproduce it.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3208
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Refresh problems

#6 Post by Dreamer » 02.04.2018, 18:41

alf5000 wrote:
15.08.2016, 17:08
found one way to reproduce the refresh problem - not always but very often :?:

1) Ctrl+B: switch to plain view
2) select a file located in a sub-folder (<-- this is the important part!)
3) "Wipe..." that file from the sub-folder
--> very often FCXE does not auto-refresh
I can always reproduce this bug with my ini (sent to Marek already), with similar steps to reproduce.

- go to folder with some files and subfolders with files
- enter any subfolder
- create a new file
- press Backspace to go up 1 level
- press Ctrl+B to enable plain view
- focus the new file with arrow keys (if needed)
- press delete key and enter to delete the file
= file is still visible, auto-refresh doesn't work

- delete the same (deleted) file
= no error dialog, file just disappear

Ctrl+R works to refresh, also if I delete any file from the main folder (not subfolder), auto-refresh works good, it works also if I select 2 files in subfolder and delete them.
It doesn't work if I select 1 file with Insert key (in NC-mode) and delete the file.

FC 773 64-bit portable donor, Windows 10 Home 64-bit 1709

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2323
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Refresh problems

#7 Post by Marek » 03.04.2018, 19:18

I can always reproduce this bug with my ini (sent to Marek already), with similar steps to reproduce.
Thanks for the ini file and the step by step description - it is fixed for the release 774.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3208
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Refresh problems

#8 Post by Dreamer » 18.04.2018, 23:23

Thank you, Marek, fix confirmed. (It's missing in the changelog BTW ;) )

Closed.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests