FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
thisguycecil
Posts: 39
Joined: 05.12.2013, 02:08

FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#1 Post by thisguycecil » 27.07.2017, 19:46

Hello.

Just updated FCXE64 on Win10 to v750 from v749 a few minutes ago.

I went to this settings page: Tools | Settings | View | Viewer | <Viewer_button> | Configure Viewer:

In the General tab the window partially hides the option "RTF file size limit". In the Multimedia tab the window partially hides the Media section of the settings.

Also, this sub-window cannot be resized. I found this odd because this other sub-window does resize: Tools | Settings | FTP | <Define_button> | FTP Connection. Same type of Windows object but different behaviour.

Can anyone else recreate this problem with v750?

Thanks in advice for any assistance.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3188
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#2 Post by Dreamer » 27.07.2017, 20:31

Can't confirm in 750 64-bit. Tested with my settings and default settings.

Are you using large font in Windows, more than 100%?

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2260
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#3 Post by Marek » 27.07.2017, 20:50

Ok, I can reproduce it on high resolution monitor and Windows 10.

alf5000
Posts: 433
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

750 unsuable Settings dialogue on HiDPI-screen

#4 Post by alf5000 » 28.07.2017, 13:57

:shock:
Most of the Settings-dialogues are unusable for me on my 15" HiDPI screen!


Image

Image
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

alf5000
Posts: 433
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: 750 unsuable Settings dialogue on HiDPI-screen

#5 Post by alf5000 » 28.07.2017, 14:19

sorry, I didn't see that there is already a topic on this.
http://forum.freecommander.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=8062

perhaps somebody could delete mine or merge it.
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

alf5000
Posts: 433
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#6 Post by alf5000 » 31.07.2017, 10:11

massive improvements! thanks.

but some minor clipping still present --> not all functions can be reached.
this is what I found at a quick review:
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

alf5000
Posts: 433
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#7 Post by alf5000 » 21.10.2017, 16:35

FCXE761: still minor clipping issues left:

this one here is more than just a glitch:

Image
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

Odamn-Ete
Posts: 14
Joined: 28.06.2017, 05:10

Re: FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#8 Post by Odamn-Ete » 24.10.2017, 03:58

FreeCommander XE 2017 Build 761 64-bit donor
Windows 10 Pro 64 bit

Cannot confirm clipping:


Image

Karol
Posts: 596
Joined: 19.08.2007, 10:05

Re: FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#9 Post by Karol » 24.10.2017, 06:06

It is only if you use HiDPI-screen with font scaling >100%.

Odamn-Ete
Posts: 14
Joined: 28.06.2017, 05:10

Re: FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#10 Post by Odamn-Ete » 24.10.2017, 12:37

Screen resolution 1920 x 1080 (maximum)

font scaling 125%

Image

still no clipping Karol

Cheers

Odamn-Ete
Posts: 14
Joined: 28.06.2017, 05:10

Re: FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#11 Post by Odamn-Ete » 24.10.2017, 12:58

here is the result with font scaling 150%

Image

still no clipping.

Karol, you can try a few things:

see if your graphic driver can be updated

reduce screen resolution

lower the font scaling bit by bit, till you don't experience any clipping.

P.S. I'm not gonna try higher font scaling. As you can see, the pics I upload are just getting bigger.

P.P.S. you replied to the wrong thread ;-)

alf5000
Posts: 433
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#12 Post by alf5000 » 24.10.2017, 17:03

@Odamn-Ete
problem only exist with HiDPI and font scaling >150%

FullHD = 1920 x 1080
--> doesn't cause problems


HiDPI: e.g.: 2280 x 1620 on a 15,6" screen with font scaling 200%
--> definitely clipping issues
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

Odamn-Ete
Posts: 14
Joined: 28.06.2017, 05:10

Re: FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#13 Post by Odamn-Ete » 24.10.2017, 20:42

Thanks alf5000 for the info.

I would suggest to give Marek a bit more time to address the issue. The Windows developers are having their own problems with HiDPI.

https://blogs.windows.com/buildingapps/ ... ry-update/

https://blogs.windows.com/buildingapps/ ... ktop-apps/

I believe Marek would have to do an extreme amount of re-writing the code in order to solve the issue completely. Let's give him time.

Cheers

alf5000
Posts: 433
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#14 Post by alf5000 » 25.10.2017, 17:31

I don't want to rush @Marek, I'm sorry just in case I created that impression.
I'm quite aware of HiDPI problems of other software makers.
@Marek has done a fabulous job in HiDPI compability AND there were massive improvements some versions ago - but how should he know, that there are still some glitches if nobody informed him?
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

alf5000
Posts: 433
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: FCXE64 750 vs 749: Sub-Window For Configure Viewer Is Now Clipped

#15 Post by alf5000 » 28.10.2017, 20:46

win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests