Windows 10 - Can't launch FreeCommander 64bit

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
bipinsen
Posts: 7
Joined: 06.03.2015, 14:53

Windows 10 - Can't launch FreeCommander 64bit

#1 Post by bipinsen » 21.01.2017, 18:47

I've been using FC 64 bit version for years on Windows 7. I recently had to change my laptop, and I now have Windows 10 Enterprise 2015 LTSB (whatever that means). I have not been able to launch FreeCommander 64 bit (I have always used the portable build) at all. The process shows running in Task Manager, but the app doesn't launch, or show up in the taskbar. I've had to switch to the 32 bit version (also portable), and that works fine. Am I missing something? I've looked through the forums. One guy had this problem, but no one really gave any good ideas.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3235
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Windows 10 - Can't launch FreeCommander 64bit

#2 Post by Dreamer » 21.01.2017, 19:17

• Try to reproduce a bug with default settings and without plugins. To do this use these command line parameters (your old setting files will be preserved):

/N /NewIni=FreeCommanderTest.ini /NoPlugins /Lng=English

bipinsen
Posts: 7
Joined: 06.03.2015, 14:53

Re: Windows 10 - Can't launch FreeCommander 64bit

#3 Post by bipinsen » 21.01.2017, 19:52

Dreamer wrote:• Try to reproduce a bug with default settings and without plugins. To do this use these command line parameters (your old setting files will be preserved):

/N /NewIni=FreeCommanderTest.ini /NoPlugins /Lng=English
I am able to reproduce this with a brand new download with no personal settings. I've done this with v740, 737 and 735. No luck on any of them.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3235
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Windows 10 - Can't launch FreeCommander 64bit

#4 Post by Dreamer » 21.01.2017, 20:22

Weird, what is your antivir software? No other FreeCommander exe process is running in Task manager? Which install folder you're using?

Please try to restart computer, disable your antivir software temporary, copy/unpack the new FreeCommander portable folder to other folder than "Program Files" or "Program Files (x86)" and try to run freecommander.exe.

bipinsen
Posts: 7
Joined: 06.03.2015, 14:53

Re: Windows 10 - Can't launch FreeCommander 64bit

#5 Post by bipinsen » 21.01.2017, 20:31

Dreamer wrote:Weird, what is your antivir software? No other FreeCommander exe process is running in Task manager? Which install folder you're using?

Please try to restart computer, disable your antivir software temporary, copy/unpack the new FreeCommander portable folder to other folder than "Program Files" or "Program Files (x86)" and try to run freecommander.exe.
Correct.. no other process is running. My launch path is C:\Tmp\FreeCommanderXE-64-donor_portable740 (just where I extracted the files from my temp download folder. I even tried to run it from C:\Tmp\Test and it did the same. Virus scanner is Symantec Endpoint Protection. I can't disable it because it's a company provided computer and I don't have access to disable it.

Like I said, 32 bit is working just fine.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 6 guests