653 - extract zipfile

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
UFO
Posts: 18
Joined: 17.01.2014, 20:01

653 - extract zipfile

#1 Post by UFO » 11.02.2014, 20:04

If I try to extract a zipfile right after the start of FC (context menue / extract all) only a very small window appears (may be in the background). After closing this windows tThe second try works normal.
FreeCommander XE 2014 Build 653 donor
Win7 x64 SP1

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

#2 Post by joby_toss » 12.02.2014, 14:25

Are you sure "Context menu/ Extract all" entry is from FC and not from an archives manager (7-zip, Winzip etc.)? I don't have this one.
I use 7-zip and can't replicate your issue.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3442
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

#3 Post by Dreamer » 12.02.2014, 18:00

It looks "Extract all" is from explorer, I have the explorer window when I use it, so probably it's not a bug.

FC 653 donor, Win Vista 32 bit.

UFO
Posts: 18
Joined: 17.01.2014, 20:01

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

#4 Post by UFO » 13.02.2014, 19:29

You are right, sorry. The context menue after a right mouse button klick is of course from the windows explorer. But if I make this direct in the explorer everything is fine. Only the first time the context menue is open in FC I have this problem. May be the "FcContextMenu64.exe" has a problem? Tomorrow I will test that on another PC.
FreeCommander XE 2014 Build 653 donor
Win7 x64 SP1

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

#5 Post by joby_toss » 14.02.2014, 13:22

If you want to see if FcContextMenu64.exe is at fault, just edit the file FreeCommander.ini and change this line:

Code: Select all

ShowContextMenu64Bit=1
to

Code: Select all

ShowContextMenu64Bit=0
or simply hold the Win key while right clicking.

You could also use FC XE 64 bit version (I see you're a donor) on a 64 bit OS. This version doesn't need FcContextMenu64.exe to function properly.

UFO
Posts: 18
Joined: 17.01.2014, 20:01

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

#6 Post by UFO » 16.02.2014, 09:34

I try your tip and: it works! I have the 32bit-Version on my 64bit-Win, but in my FreeCommander.ini there was no entry "ShowContextMenu64Bit". After I insert "ShowContextMenu64Bit=0" everything works fine. Thanks.
You could also use FC XE 64 bit version (I see you're a donor) on a 64 bit OS. This version doesn't need FcContextMenu64.exe to function properly.
But the FC XE 64 bit version is available "only" in a portable Version right?
FreeCommander XE 2014 Build 653 donor
Win7 x64 SP1

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

#7 Post by joby_toss » 16.02.2014, 09:42

UFO wrote:But the FC XE 64 bit version is available "only" in a portable Version right?
At the moment, yes.

horst.epp
Posts: 153
Joined: 15.11.2008, 19:18

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

#8 Post by horst.epp » 16.02.2014, 15:46

UFO wrote:I try your tip and: it works! I have the 32bit-Version on my 64bit-Win, but in my FreeCommander.ini there was no entry "ShowContextMenu64Bit". After I insert "ShowContextMenu64Bit=0" everything works fine. Thanks.
You could also use FC XE 64 bit version (I see you're a donor) on a 64 bit OS. This version doesn't need FcContextMenu64.exe to function properly.
But the FC XE 64 bit version is available "only" in a portable Version right?
But the portable version works the same as an installed version.
There is nothing you need from the installer for normal usage.
And it has the benefit of having all settings and files in one place.

Scott_Y
Posts: 504
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: 653 - extract zipfile

#9 Post by Scott_Y » 21.02.2014, 07:22

joby_toss wrote:If you want to see if FcContextMenu64.exe is at fault, just edit the file FreeCommander.ini and change this line:
ShowContextMenu64Bit=1
to
ShowContextMenu64Bit=0
or simply hold the Win key while right clicking.
Thanks, Joby! This solves the same problem I reported in viewtopic.php?f=7&t=4647

And thanks, UFO, for describing the problem better than I did.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Brookerice, fbarraza28, Google Adsense [Bot] and 29 guests