609 - Disabling auto refresh doesn´t work as expected

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
larsen
Posts: 128
Joined: 12.01.2013, 14:12

609 - Disabling auto refresh doesn´t work as expected

#1 Post by larsen » 16.04.2016, 11:57

See the posts in viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5016&p=15447#p15395

Steps to reproduce:
- Disable "Auto refresh" settings in "Settings > View > File/Folder List > Refresh"
- Set max column width to 0
- Resize the name column
- Create or delete a directory

Expected result:
As auto refresh is disabled, the column shouldn´t be resized.

Actual result:
The column is automatically resized back to it´s old width.

edit: still happens with build 720.

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2334
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 609 - Disabling auto refresh doesn´t work as expected

#2 Post by Marek » 16.04.2016, 14:50

If you do not like auto resize name column than switch off the option 'Auto size for "Name" column' in the detail view.
You can make resize then manually if you want with Shift+Ctrl++.

larsen
Posts: 128
Joined: 12.01.2013, 14:12

Re: 609 - Disabling auto refresh doesn´t work as expected

#3 Post by larsen » 16.04.2016, 16:06

I actually like auto resize, but I'm not sure if I understand the purpose of "auto refresh" correctly.
When auto refresh is disabled, why is the view refreshed when I create a directory?

alf5000
Posts: 434
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: 609 - Disabling auto refresh doesn´t work as expected

#4 Post by alf5000 » 16.04.2016, 16:19

I also like Auto Resize, but there is one thing that drives me nuts: the last one or two letters are cut off if I use Ctrl+Shift++.

Is it a setting I miss or is it a bug?

Image
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

larsen
Posts: 128
Joined: 12.01.2013, 14:12

Re: 609 - Disabling auto refresh doesn´t work as expected

#5 Post by larsen » 16.04.2016, 16:42

@alf5000: Please don't hijack threads. Not to be rude, but your post has nothing to do with the original thread.

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2334
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 609 - Disabling auto refresh doesn´t work as expected

#6 Post by Marek » 16.04.2016, 16:49

When auto refresh is disabled, why is the view refreshed when I create a directory?
I think, if you create a directory you want see what you have created :).

larsen
Posts: 128
Joined: 12.01.2013, 14:12

Re: 609 - Disabling auto refresh doesn´t work as expected

#7 Post by larsen » 16.04.2016, 17:17

Then what is the purpose of auto refresh? Even if it is disabled, it still auto refreshes.

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2334
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: 609 - Disabling auto refresh doesn´t work as expected

#8 Post by Marek » 16.04.2016, 17:47

If you make some action in FreeCommander - e.g. create folder, create file, change attributes, rename, etc. - then the result of the action will be always showed in FreeCommander (independent auto refresh setting).
If the changes in the file system are made outside FreeCommander - e.g. using Windows Explorer for some action, creating file with some editor, etc. - then the change in file system will be showed if auto refresh is active.

alf5000
Posts: 434
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: 609 - Disabling auto refresh doesn´t work as expected

#9 Post by alf5000 » 16.04.2016, 18:18

@larsen:
sorry, I thought it's all about AutoSize Columns
then @Marek talked about Ctrl+Shift++
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

larsen
Posts: 128
Joined: 12.01.2013, 14:12

Re: 609 - Disabling auto refresh doesn´t work as expected

#10 Post by larsen » 16.04.2016, 20:07

@alf: No problem then =)

@Marek: Thanks for the explanation. I guess the info from http://www.forum.freecommander.com/view ... 447#p15385 was wrong or I misinterpreted it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests