FC freezes if "size of folders" and "sort by

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
cornelius
Posts: 4
Joined: 27.10.2007, 16:16

FC freezes if "size of folders" and "sort by

#1 Post by cornelius » 10.12.2008, 19:31

Hi,
please activate the following two settings.
1. activate "size of folders" (ALT + F9)
2. activate "sort by size"

Then change through your folders on your harddisk.

Sometimes FreeCommander freezes immediately, sometimes I need some more folder changes.


If FreeCommander is froozen, then the task must be killed with task manager. CPU load is low.

FreeCommander Version = 2009.1.0.934

Who can confirm this problem?

Best regards,
Cornelius

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3471
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

#2 Post by Dreamer » 12.12.2008, 10:08

Can't confirm (R394, OS Vista SP1), but I found another bug - I'll start a new topic.

Edit: OK, now I can confirm this bug too, but I'm not sure if it's a bug, such operation might be very slow and danger in folders with meny subfolders/files.

Hannes Rannes
Posts: 8
Joined: 03.10.2007, 18:44
Contact:

#3 Post by Hannes Rannes » 10.01.2009, 13:13

I can confirm the problem. Just wanted to report it in the german forum.
It first appeared a few months ago.

It doesn't have to do with time-consuming operations, it even happens in folders with nearly any subfolders/files. Furthermore the FC usually still remains responsive to user interaction while calculating the size of folders. It's absolutely sure a bug.

When the FC then hangs it doesn't consume any CPU power.

I'll give you some information provided by Process Explorer for the case that it could be useful somehow.

Image

Stack:
comctl32.dll!DefSubclassProc+0x200
ntdll.dll!KiFastSystemCallRet
USER32.dll!TranslateMessageEx+0x172
USER32.dll!MsgWaitForMultipleObjects+0x1f
FreeCommander.exe+0x274d0
FreeCommander.exe+0x1cbfe1
FreeCommander.exe+0x1e11b7
FreeCommander.exe+0x128edf
FreeCommander.exe+0x128d90
FreeCommander.exe+0x128add
FreeCommander.exe+0x26d88
FreeCommander.exe+0x8ba47
FreeCommander.exe+0x8ae38
FreeCommander.exe+0x2c37e5
kernel32.dll!BaseThreadInitThunk+0x12
ntdll.dll!RtlInitializeExceptionChain+0x63
ntdll.dll!RtlInitializeExceptionChain+0x36
Beta 396
Windows Vista Enterprise SP1

szucsati
Posts: 2
Joined: 10.06.2008, 21:33

Confirmed

#4 Post by szucsati » 14.01.2009, 03:12

I can confirm this bug. I use XP SP3, and this is the most annoying bug in FC since I use this feature a lot. It's been there for a couple of beta releases, and still there with the latest one. I just didn't report it.
The work-around solution is to switch off the size of directory feature when you change folders.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 116 guests