Cannot rename folders anymore

Bugs and issues - current donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
MdJ
Posts: 11
Joined: 06.05.2013, 21:05

Cannot rename folders anymore

#1 Post by MdJ » 10.05.2018, 19:46

Image

For years I'am using FreeCommander and Irfanview on Windows (7 - 10) almost daily for dumping pictures from my camera's memory cards to external haddisks.
The files are stored chronologic with some specifics added: 180509 Amsterdam IJ flying swans.
So I insert a card into my computer. find the folder on the sd card in the left pannel from Freecommander and look for the date of the latest pictures. Then I make active the media folder of a connected external haddisk in the right pannel ; push f7 te create a new folder enter the date of the latest picturs in the create folder field and create a folder 180509. Next I select in the left pannel all pictures with date may 09 2018 and drag them to my new folder. In the thumbnail mode I see the contents of the folder and decide to add Amsterdam IJ flying swans to 180509. I click in the folderpane on the folder 180509 so that I can eddit the foldername directly and add the location and description of the pictures. I also judge and eddit the pictures with Irfanview and sometimes Freecommander build in viewer. I know that I have to close Irfanview first otherwise it will not be possible to rename a folder in FreeCommander.

Since last week it is almost impossible to rename a folder. If I do the message appears:

The action can’t be completed because the file is open in another program
CLose the folder or file and try again.

My only option is to close FreeCommander and rename the folders in Windows Explorer...

It has to do with the hidden file thumb.db that is in use so

I tried to rename after switching from thumbnailview to details.

Maybe it has to do with Windows 10 last update.

FreeCommander FreeCommanderXE 763 and 774 32 portable

Acer Aspire One Windows 10 32 last update April 30

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2262
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cannot rename folders anymore

#2 Post by Marek » 13.05.2018, 10:58

Probably is the quick view of one file open. You can switch quick view with Ctrl+Q.

MdJ
Posts: 11
Joined: 06.05.2013, 21:05

Re: Cannot rename folders anymore

#3 Post by MdJ » 14.05.2018, 13:31

Hello Marek, thank you for your quick response.
No that is not the cause of the problem. I know Quick view and of course I made shure that it was not active during renaming a folder.
After reading your comment I launched FreeCommander for the first time today, tried to rename a folder with images on C: but the message appeared again and by no means I cannot rename that folder. I tried Ctrl+Q 2x (on off) at no avail. In Windows Task manager is no application visible that could contain a file from that folder.

I remember last week when I was wrestling with this problem, I saw a message concerning Thumbs.db.

Now I will try to delete Thumbs.db before renaming the folder but this is also in use by FreeCommander so I cannot delete it.

So I closed FreeCommander and started Windows Explorer and deleted Thumbs.db in one folder containing images.

After starting FreeCommander again, I still cannot rename that particular folder.

Folders that does not contain images can be renamed.

MdJ
Posts: 11
Joined: 06.05.2013, 21:05

Re: Cannot rename folders anymore

#4 Post by MdJ » 15.05.2018, 16:30

Today I started FreeCommander and I was able to rename a folder that contains images.
The problem arises after copying images from my camera sd card. So I created a folder with F7, gave it a name 180515, copied a selection from sd to the new folder. After judging the thumbnails, I wanted to extend the folder name. Renaming the folder by clicking the folder name was not possible anymore as described in former messages.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3188
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Cannot rename folders anymore

#5 Post by Dreamer » 15.05.2018, 17:24

Few ideas:

- quick view panel might be invisible, try to enable it for both panels, if needed, then disable both and restart FC
- perhaps you opened 1 item/image in external program - and it was not correctly and completely closed
- I had some issue, so I had to refresh view manually, otherwise item was "locked" (it was fixed in 774)

Try to test with default settings and no plugins:

https://freecommander.com/forum/viewtop ... 1b2448#p28

MdJ
Posts: 11
Joined: 06.05.2013, 21:05

Re: Cannot rename folders anymore

#6 Post by MdJ » 15.05.2018, 20:59

Hello Dreamer, thank you for your Ideas

As I already described in my first mail about this subject I am using IrfanView a lot and I'am aware that it is not possible to rename a file or folder when it is loaded in Irfaview or FreeCommanders internal viewer or any other program. For years I'am using Freecommander on a daily basis. So copying files from a sd card to an external disk and renaming files with FreeCommander is a routine I did hudreds of thousands times. I chose Freecommander because of the easy workflow for this type of jobs.

In my next mail I wrote that I even checked Taskmanager if there was a program open that maybe contained a file from the folder that I wanted to rename - what was very unlikely. Of course I tried to rename a folder after a fresh restart of Windows and FreeCommander. However at no avail.

And I pushed the refreshbutton from time to time. And changed from thumbnails to listview and removed Thumb.db with Windows Explorer.

By the way: I still can rename the folder in Windows explorer as I already explained. And that is also NOT possible when a file from the folder is opened in an other program.

To check this I just renamed a folder in Windows Explorer which succeeded while Freecommander (no QuickView ) is still active. This was not possible when a file from that folder was also opened in Irfanview. So there is no file open in FreeCommanders viewer.

After this operation I now can also rename a folder in FreeCommander... However 1 folder...The next folder produces the message

The action can’t be completed because the file is open in another program
CLose the folder or file and try again.

To check this again I repeated the last test: I rename a folder in Windows Explorer while FreeCommander is still active. I changed to FreeCommander Window and try to rename the next folder. That is not possible now.

I do not use plug-ins in FreeCommander.

I started FreeCommander to go back to all default settings. After that I was able to rename a folder. The folder content (file pane) was in detail view. Now a switched to thumbs and wanted to change the name of the same folder however that was not possible anymore.

Now I started FreeCommander according to your instructions from the promt with parameters for to go back to default settings and English. However renaming a folder was not possible.
Last edited by MdJ on 21.05.2018, 21:57, edited 1 time in total.

MdJ
Posts: 11
Joined: 06.05.2013, 21:05

Re: Cannot rename folders anymore

#7 Post by MdJ » 16.05.2018, 17:27

Hello Dreamer,
Today I read your instructions again and saw that you asked for two Quick Views in both panes.
I appologize for not reading that at once.
I made active Quick View in both window panes and got an error message:

Error loading...F:\Media\2018\05 Mei\180514\P13785.RW2 ievision.dll, ievision32.dll, ievision64.dll, ielib.dll, ielib32.dll or ielib64.dll not found

The First QV panes loaded as usual in the contrary pane without toolbar. The second panel caused the Error message and appeared also in the contrary pane but with a toolbar -this is unusual.

I repeated this with FC started with parameters on the Command prompt in the default mode. Now both QV panes had a toolbar. After klicking on ok the error message disappeared. After several attempts the left panel loaded content. And the error message appeared. After more efforts the loading of content in QV functioned normal without error messages.

However I still cannot rename a folder.

Image

Ok have closed both views and restart FileCommander in the default mode.

I was able to rename 1 folder only...

MdJ
Posts: 11
Joined: 06.05.2013, 21:05

Re: Cannot rename folders anymore

#8 Post by MdJ » 21.05.2018, 23:22

Hello Marek and Dreamer,

I still cannot rename folders that contain media in FreeCommander.
I carried out all your instructions and gave you feedback about the results verbal and visual.
I received no reactions from you both anymore.

Are you still investigating the problem?

Is Renaming folders not one of the most essential functions in a file explorer?

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2262
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cannot rename folders anymore

#9 Post by Marek » 22.05.2018, 19:01

For a long time I tried to reproduce the problem unfortunately without success. It works fine for me.
I started FreeCommander to go back to all default settings. After that I was able to rename a folder. The folder content (file pane) was in detail view. Now a switched to thumbs and wanted to change the name of the same folder however that was not possible anymore.
It means - you can rename any number of folders if thumbnail view is not active?
How do you start the rename operation? Select one folder in the tree and then using F2?

MdJ
Posts: 11
Joined: 06.05.2013, 21:05

Re: Cannot rename folders anymore

#10 Post by MdJ » 23.05.2018, 01:21

Hello Marek,

Thank you for letting me know that this problem has still your attention.

The problem arises when I try to rename folders that contain images.

So I can rename folders with text documents or mp4's but not folders with jpg's and RW2 (Panasonic raw).

However sometimes I can rename 1 folder with images. For instance after a fresh start from Windows and Freecommander I can somtimes rename 1 folder. The next folder I can't rename anymore. Another instance: Today I changed the settings in FreeCommander from copying, deleting and moving to the Windows method again. After that I could rename 1 folder however 1 folder only.

This renaming problem raised with version 763 portable and remains after I installed the newest version 774.

I downloaded version 763 on 6 December 2017. Until this renaming problem arose, I used 763 daily till 4 may 2018 so about 5 months without any problem.

This make me think that Windows Update may cause the problem.

Normally I rename a folder in the folder tree by selecting it with a left mouseclick followed by a long left mouseclick.

Your question about how I rename a folder, hit upon an idea to rename a folder in the file pane instead to rename a folder in the folder tree, what I do normally.

And what do you think...THIS WORKED! I can rename a folder with image files in the file pane. And the renamed folder will appear in the folder tree.

However, this is not very practical for renaming folders that contain images, because I like to see the thumbs while renaming. But maybe this will give you some more insight into what the cause of the problem is.
Last edited by MdJ on 23.05.2018, 21:56, edited 1 time in total.

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2262
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Cannot rename folders anymore

#11 Post by Marek » 23.05.2018, 20:55

Unfortunatelly I do not have Windows 10 32 bit for testing.
FreeCommander 32 bit on Windows 10 64 bit works fine.
Please check the site for thumbnails cache problems: https://www.ghacks.net/2014/03/12/thumb ... s-windows/

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests