XE hotkeys and context menu

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Message
Author
User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

XE hotkeys and context menu

#1 Post by AEN007 » 07.04.2011, 09:36

granny wrote:
It would optimize the GUI if users could have
one tree & two panes (like with x² & 2xEx).
coming in next version, according to the screenshots Marek posted.
I'm drooling over those ......
I'm wondering when we might see the stable version release of the "new" FC?

I also would like to know where FC stores the Folder-Root hotkey?
I find that hotkey in neither the FC ini nor shc file ...
I would like to make that hotkey combo Shift-Backspace -
to be the same as the other freeware file explorers I use (with unchangeable hotkey combos).
I cannot enter Shift-BS in change/update hotkeys GUI.
If I could find the entry in the shc or an ini file, I could close FC, edit/save the shc/ini file and reopen FC ...

I am trying out FC XEß.
It seems one new feature is Shift+'any letter' goes to that drive.
This seems like a problem to me.
Maybe Ctrl-Shift+'any letter' would be better.
Shift+'any letter' means no custom hotkeys can be Shift+'any letter' ...
I was using Shift-D/F/I/T for Details/Flat/Icons/Thumbs ... but now cannot ...
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2844
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Custom Keyboard Shortcuts not Permanent?

#2 Post by Marek » 07.04.2011, 19:21

I'm wondering when we might see the stable version release of the "new" FC?
I do not know :).
I also would like to know where FC stores the Folder-Root hotkey?
I find that hotkey in neither the FC ini nor shc file ...
I would like to make that hotkey combo Shift-Backspace...
The hotkeys are saved in the freecommander.shc file.
Try
[ShortCuts]
actDirRoot=Shift+BkSp
In the next release it is possible to define Shift Ctrl Bksp in the dialog.
It seems one new feature is Shift+'any letter' goes to that drive.
You can disable the shortcuts with the new line in the freecommander.ini
[Form]
DrivesUseShiftDriveCharShortcuts=0

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: Custom Keyboard Shortcuts not Permanent?

#3 Post by AEN007 » 08.04.2011, 12:48

8April2011

Greetings & vielen Dank ...

I decided to use DrivesUseShiftDriveCharShortcuts=1 and to change my hotkeys.
The Goto Drive shortcut/feature is great; I just wish the hotkey was not Shift+ ...
It even prevents hotkeys like Shift+w when there is no drive W ...

actDirRoot was NOT in my .shc file like I said ... but the hotkey was set & working !?!
I added actDirRoot=Shift+BkSp ...

FCXEß is giving me a BIG problem with the AppsKey.
When FCXEß is active and I hit the AppsKey, FCXEß pops up an FCXEß contextmenu NOT the XP contextmenu.
actFileContextMenu= was NOT in my .shc file but actFileContextMenu64 was in my .shc file ...
Setting or unsetting these makes no difference.
What can I do so that FCXEß will popup the XP not the FC PM?
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: Custom Keyboard Shortcuts not Permanent?

#4 Post by AEN007 » 11.04.2011, 17:58

11April2011
AEN007 wrote:FCXEß is giving me a BIG problem with the AppsKey.
Today I encountered another FCXEpα contextmenu problem.
JetAudio has the option to add JA options to the XP contextmenu for selected file extensions.
When I choose a JA XPCM option like "Play with JA", JA does not respond ...
This did not happen with FC9b & has never happened before at all.

I have enabled temporary work-around fixes for these FCXEpα XPCM problems but
hope FCXE in the future will not have these problems ...
I (still) have no idea what the problem is or if there are any other fixes ...
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

Karol
Posts: 772
Joined: 19.08.2007, 10:05

Re: Custom Keyboard Shortcuts not Permanent?

#5 Post by Karol » 12.04.2011, 06:06

When FCXEß is active and I hit the AppsKey, FCXEß pops up an FCXEß contextmenu NOT the XP contextmenu.
It does not work if the mouse cursor is above the file list pane.

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: Custom Keyboard Shortcuts not Permanent?

#6 Post by AEN007 » 12.04.2011, 15:15

Ah ha ... so it's seems to be as you say ... THANKS ... good to know ...
I've tweaked my workaround solution accordingly ...
I presume this is a bug not a feature ? ... ? Whatever ...

The JA XP-CM problem I posted persists, however ...

The hotkeys contextmenu and contextmenu64 are new.
Are they supposed to popup an FC-CM instead of the XP/Win-CM?
The contextmenu hotkey popups up the XP-CM ...

I could really use a GoTo Tab hotkey ...
It is more ergonomic to stay on the keyboard instead of reaching for the mouse/pointing device,
so I have to hit my Prev/Next FolderTab hotkeys back & forth all day long ...
GoTo FirstTab would be easy ... GoTo nthTab would be easy ...

Today I accidentally hit Ctrl+Num+ and FCXEpα resized columns even though I have no Numpad hotkeys at all ...

It's hard to tell/know what "issues" are bugs and which are just on the to-do list ...
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: Custom Keyboard Shortcuts not Permanent?

#7 Post by AEN007 » 13.04.2011, 16:21

AEN007 wrote:The JA XP-CM problem I posted persists, however ...
I entered the JetAudio.exe under Default action for Programs in Settings for some file types. The "Default action" is supposed to override the default action in the Windows registry for opening each specific file type and does BUT ONLY when only one item was highlighted/selected in FCXEpα.

That is -
when I have only one (1) .wav file highlighted/selected in FCXEpα and hit enter,
FCXEpα executes the Default action of using JetAudio.exe;
but when I have only more than one (2 or more) .wav files highlighted/selected in FCXEpα and hit enter,
FCXEpα executes the default action in the Windows registry
NOT the FCXEpα default action of using JetAudio.exe ...
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2844
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: XE hotkeys and context menu

#8 Post by Marek » 15.04.2011, 20:16

I could really use a GoTo Tab hotkey ...
I have implemented new action "Show popup menu with tabs".
The hotkeys contextmenu and contextmenu64 are new.
Are they supposed to popup an FC-CM instead of the XP/Win-CM?
Windows context menu.
Today I accidentally hit Ctrl+Num+ and FCXEpα resized columns
It is default shortcut and is defined in the shortcuts dialog. You can redefine or remove it.
JetAudio has the option to add JA options to the XP contextmenu for selected file extensions.
Could you provide the info where is the option to set?

What is your Windows XP 32 or 64?

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: XE hotkeys and context menu

#9 Post by AEN007 » 01.05.2011, 10:17

1May2011

Greetings.
Marek wrote:
Today I accidentally hit Ctrl+Num+ and FCXEpα resized columns
It is default shortcut and is defined in the shortcuts dialog. You can redefine or remove it.
I can neither redefine nor remove it because, like I said
AEN007 wrote:I have no Numpad hotkeys at all ...
Marek wrote:
JetAudio has the option to add JA options to the XP contextmenu for selected file extensions.
Could you provide the info where is the option to set?
What is your Windows XP 32 or 64?
I have 2 XPPsp3 and 1 XPHsp3 32bit laptops.
What does "where is the option set mean"?
One would have to install JABasic (free), then go into Preferences and
select which file extensions should have the JA contextmenu ...
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: XE hotkeys and context menu

#10 Post by AEN007 » 24.05.2011, 20:23

24May2011
Greetings.
The contextmenu hotkey is great when I am working under a non-XPE PE boot, because non-XPE PE boots have no AppsKey functionality!

It seems the context menu for NICs under the Control Panel network connections do not have "proper" context menus when accessed through FCXE ...
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: XE hotkeys and context menu

#11 Post by AEN007 » 28.09.2011, 15:54

28September2011
Greetings.
Yesterday I remembered that to check out this tabs popup menu item.
I added a hotkey, but the hotkey does nothing.
Is this supposed to be functional?
Marek wrote:
I could really use a GoTo Tab hotkey ...
I have implemented new action "Show popup menu with tabs".
JetAudio has the option to add JA options to the XP contextmenu for selected file extensions.
Could you provide the info where is the option to set?
I mentioned in another posting of mine that other items I have previously posted remain "OPEN".
This JetAudio contextmenu bug remains open ...
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

Karol
Posts: 772
Joined: 19.08.2007, 10:05

Re: XE hotkeys and context menu

#12 Post by Karol » 29.09.2011, 09:20

Yesterday I remembered that to check out this tabs popup menu item.
I added a hotkey, but the hotkey does nothing.
Is this supposed to be functional?
It works very well for me on Win 7/64.

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: XE hotkeys and context menu

#13 Post by AEN007 » 17.11.2011, 20:52

17November2011
Greetings.
This new hotkey is NOT working for me on my XPx86 laptops.
I would like very much to make if work if possible.
Any helpful replies/insights appreciated.

I hope my previously posted "open items" are still in the "Q" ...
The "focus bug", no infotips, no JA & etc remain problems ...
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: XE hotkeys and context menu

#14 Post by AEN007 » 03.12.2011, 07:52

Karol wrote:
Yesterday I remembered that to check out this tabs popup menu item.
I added a hotkey, but the hotkey does nothing.
Is this supposed to be functional?
It works very well for me on Win 7/64.
There is the "Tab: Show context menu" hotkey option and
the "Tab: Show popup menu" hotkey option.
The Show context menu works for me but not the Show popup menu.
Marek wrote:
I could really use a GoTo Tab hotkey ...
I have implemented new action "Show popup menu with tabs".
Is the Show popup menu supposed to work?

Today I noticed that "Select same items" works but
the "Select files with same ext/name" options do not.
Are they supposed to work?

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: XE hotkeys and context menu

#15 Post by AEN007 » 08.03.2012, 21:42

8March2012

Is / will there be some way to simulate the mouse CTRL-CLICK selection
with a shortcut/hotkey?
I have SPACEBAR set to trigger the XP contextmenu.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests