Making Freecommander default file explorer ?

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
asprinkem90
Posts: 1
Joined: 28.10.2020, 14:00

Making Freecommander default file explorer ?

#1 Post by asprinkem90 » 20.08.2021, 14:02

Hi!

Can anyone help me to find an obvious option for allowing the user to make FreeCommander opening folders instead of Windows explorer?
Looking for this vital command all the day along... I even bought the donor version with hope, but still nothing found. :roll:

Thanks a lot!appvalley tutuapp tweakbox
Last edited by asprinkem90 on 24.08.2021, 14:34, edited 1 time in total.

horst.epp
Posts: 464
Joined: 15.11.2008, 20:18

Re: Making Freecommander default file explorer ?

#2 Post by horst.epp » 20.08.2021, 15:41

Store this in some file.reg
Edit the paths according to your installation.
All "\" must be doubled !!!
Then double click the reg file to add it into the registry.

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
 
 [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell]
 @="open"
 
 [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell\open]
 
 [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell\open\command]
 @="c:\\Tools\\FreeCommander\\FreeCommander.exe /T /C \"%1\""
 
 [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell]
 @="open"

Windows 11 Home x64 Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3296)
Everything Version 1.5.0.1371a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.3.3, Listary Pro 6.3.0.73
FreeCommander XE 2024 Build 905 64-bit donor

mmahmoodh
Posts: 2
Joined: 14.06.2021, 22:59

Re: Making Freecommander default file explorer ?

#3 Post by mmahmoodh » 23.08.2021, 22:13

horst.epp wrote: 20.08.2021, 15:41 Store this in some file.reg
Edit the paths according to your installation.
All "\" must be doubled !!!
Then double click the reg file to add it into the registry.

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
 
 [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell]
 @="open"
 
 [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell\open]
 
 [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell\open\command]
 @="c:\\Tools\\FreeCommander\\FreeCommander.exe /T /C \"%1\""
 
 [HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell]
 @="open"

I'm a newbie when it comes to this but I'm good at following step by step walk-throughs. Can you provide more detailed steps to do this, for eg., you mentioned editing paths, does this mean the path of where free commander is installed?, when you say store this is some file.reg, you mean to edit in text editor and save it as .reg file? Also about the all "\" being doubled.
Thanking in advance for the help.

horst.epp
Posts: 464
Joined: 15.11.2008, 20:18

Re: Making Freecommander default file explorer ?

#4 Post by horst.epp » 24.08.2021, 18:33

mmahmoodh wrote: 23.08.2021, 22:13
I'm a newbie when it comes to this but I'm good at following step by step walk-throughs. Can you provide more detailed steps to do this, for eg., you mentioned editing paths, does this mean the path of where free commander is installed?, when you say store this is some file.reg, you mean to edit in text editor and save it as .reg file? Also about the all "\" being doubled.
Thanking in advance for the help.
You have understand it correctly, so just do it.
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3296)
Everything Version 1.5.0.1371a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.3.3, Listary Pro 6.3.0.73
FreeCommander XE 2024 Build 905 64-bit donor

robsc
Posts: 12
Joined: 18.04.2023, 23:35

Re: Making Freecommander default file explorer ?

#5 Post by robsc » 01.08.2023, 19:00

Is the code I've shown the correct way to undo this if you wanted to?

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell]
@="none"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell]
@="none"

horst.epp
Posts: 464
Joined: 15.11.2008, 20:18

Re: Making Freecommander default file explorer ?

#6 Post by horst.epp » 01.08.2023, 19:51

robsc wrote: 01.08.2023, 19:00 Is the code I've shown the correct way to undo this if you wanted to?

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell]
@="none"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell]
@="none"
Yes
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3296)
Everything Version 1.5.0.1371a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.3.3, Listary Pro 6.3.0.73
FreeCommander XE 2024 Build 905 64-bit donor

User avatar
Forez
Posts: 1333
Joined: 30.01.2016, 12:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Making Freecommander default file explorer ?

#7 Post by Forez » 03.08.2023, 10:29

I have no problem with other REG files - and yet this one

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell]
@="open"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell\open\command]
@="C:\\q\FreeCommander\\FreeCommander.exe /t /c \"%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell]
@="open"
informs me of error
Cannot import C:\test.reg: The specified file is not a registry script.
You can only import binary registry files from within the registry editor.
Any idea why?

horst.epp
Posts: 464
Joined: 15.11.2008, 20:18

Re: Making Freecommander default file explorer ?

#8 Post by horst.epp » 03.08.2023, 15:09

Forez wrote: 03.08.2023, 10:29 I have no problem with other REG files - and yet this one

Code: Select all

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell]
@="open"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\shell\open\command]
@="C:\\q\FreeCommander\\FreeCommander.exe /t /c \"%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\shell]
@="open"
informs me of error
Cannot import C:\test.reg: The specified file is not a registry script.
You can only import binary registry files from within the registry editor.
Any idea why?
For me, all lines after the header line are indented by one space
but this maybe cosmetic.
Check the code page and the file content for binary characters, wrong line endings.
Windows 11 Home x64 Version 23H2 (OS Build 22631.3296)
Everything Version 1.5.0.1371a (x64), Everything Toolbar 1.3.3, Listary Pro 6.3.0.73
FreeCommander XE 2024 Build 905 64-bit donor

User avatar
Forez
Posts: 1333
Joined: 30.01.2016, 12:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Making Freecommander default file explorer ?

#9 Post by Forez » 08.08.2023, 00:22

I have managed to fix it - but it still does not work for me, i.e. yet another fail and replacing WE with FC [https://freecommander.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1273]

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests