Versions After v824 Not Respecting Column Profiles?

Discussion and questions - donor version.
Post Reply
Message
Author
thisguycecil
Posts: 50
Joined: 05.12.2013, 03:08

Versions After v824 Not Respecting Column Profiles?

#1 Post by thisguycecil » 23.10.2020, 05:01

Hello.

Am currently running with FCXE64 v824 on Win10 v1909.

Just testing the waters to see if anyone else has the same issue as myself.

I use layouts frequently. Also, I use a custom column profile, which is automatically applied because I move it to the top of the profile list.

Ever since v825 and above was released I encounter the same issue when I test a new version. Namely, the custom column profile settings for width of each column is not respected. The new column widths for each of my selected columns (Name, Extension, Size, Modified, Attributes) are wider than the original v824 custom profile widths, even though the window size is the same.

I have tested this on several PCs and virtual machines as well, including both W7 and W10 environments. Same issue with all post-v824 versions of FCXE64. So I am kind of stuck with v824 right now.

Has anyone else experienced the same issue?

Thanks in advance for any comments, advice and questions.

Regards, Cecil

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2958
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Versions After v824 Not Respecting Column Profiles?

#2 Post by Marek » 23.10.2020, 22:44

I can check it if you could send me your settings.

thisguycecil
Posts: 50
Joined: 05.12.2013, 03:08

Re: Versions After v824 Not Respecting Column Profiles?

#3 Post by thisguycecil » 24.10.2020, 03:49

Hello Marek.

I have attached three different backup files (renamed) of my settings in zipfile format:
-- Dummy_v824
-- Dummy_v830_Raw
-- Dummy_v830_Saved

Basically, v824 is the baseline, pre-update version. v830_Raw is the immediate backup after the update, taken before I saved the settings. v830_Saved is the backup of the update after I saved the settings.

From what I can determine, only the core user INI file, Dummy.ini changed in the "Saved" edition of the settings.

I need a separate post to send you some other attachments.

Thanks a lot for looking in this, Marek.

-------------
Regards, Cecil.
Attachments
Dummy_v824.zip
(35.79 KiB) Downloaded 57 times
Dummy_v830_Raw.zip
(35.79 KiB) Downloaded 57 times
Dummy_v830_Saved.zip
(35.99 KiB) Downloaded 56 times

thisguycecil
Posts: 50
Joined: 05.12.2013, 03:08

Re: Versions After v824 Not Respecting Column Profiles?

#4 Post by thisguycecil » 24.10.2020, 03:57

Hello Marek.

I have attached three more bits of information:
-- screenshots of the column sizes before and after the update to v830 from 824
-- an HTML diff file which I created to compare the v830_Raw to v830_Saved core user Dummy.INI file

As I noted earlier, this same experience pre- and post- update applies to v825-v830.

Hope you can shed some light on this issue.

Many thanks, Marek, for your continuing support for a tool which is critical to my workflow.

-------------
Regards, Cecil
Attachments
diff_v830_Raw_vs_Saved_Oct-12-2020 12-10.zip
(8.5 KiB) Downloaded 56 times
FCXE64_v824_Palencia_Layout3.png
FCXE64_v830_Palencia_Layout3.png

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2958
Joined: 10.04.2006, 09:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Versions After v824 Not Respecting Column Profiles?

#5 Post by Marek » 24.10.2020, 19:56

There really was a change in how the column width is calculated. FreeCommander currently scales itself and Windows did it before. It may be that there are small differences.
But I wouldn't see that as a big problem.
Change the column width as you want and then stay that way.

thisguycecil
Posts: 50
Joined: 05.12.2013, 03:08

Re: Versions After v824 Not Respecting Column Profiles?

#6 Post by thisguycecil » 24.10.2020, 21:14

Hello Marek.

Thanks for the explanation and advice.

Actually, I am happy to hear that an app has the ability to not rely on Windows scaling. (You must be using new tooling?) Especially with the pandemic and current rise in remote work (e.g, via Citrix), scaling in Win7/Win10 environments on remote desktops is not great, and sometimes downright frustrating.

However, the problem I related to you was on my own home desktop environment, not remote.

Given your advice I will now proceed to update directly from v824 to v830, and then permanently adjust my custom column settings. All along, since v825 and up, I was concerned that each future update would just undo those adjustments. But your assurance has helped me to finally decide to get back on the update track again.

Thanks again, Marek, for your help and your quick response to my query.

--------------
Regards, Cecil

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests