Make FC default explorer??

Suggestions and feature requests.
Locked
Message
Author
kunkel321
Posts: 1
Joined: 12.11.2007, 22:34

Make FC default explorer??

#1 Post by kunkel321 » 12.11.2007, 22:40

I'm not sure if this is even possible, but it would be great if FreeCommander was the default for when I open a window. For example, if I click on "My Computer" it opens directly in a FC window rather that the (very) bland Windows default. ... Just a thought :D

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 671
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

#2 Post by ralfso » 13.11.2007, 16:20

from the german Forum:

http://www.supernature-forum.de/freecom ... ager/70205
FreeCommander als Standard Dateimanager
* definiere zuerst FreeCommander für Shellmenü (Extras->Einstellungen->Shell-Menü)
* öffne Explorer und im Explorer Extras->Ordneroptionen
* aktiviere Dateitypen TAB
* selektiere Zeile 'Dateiordner' (bei mir 2. von oben)
* klicke auf die Schaltfläche 'Erweitert'
* selektiere die Zeile 'FreeCommander'
* klicke auf die Schaltfläche 'Als standard'
* bestätige alle Fenster mit OK

I hope it's the thing you're searching for.

Gruß
Ralf

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2279
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

#3 Post by Marek » 13.11.2007, 19:36

...and in English
  • - define first FreeCommander for shell menu ( in FreeCommander Extras->Settings->Shell menu)
    - open the Windows Explorer and go to Tools->Folder Options...
    - activate the File Types tab
    - select the line with "Folder" file type
    - klick on Advanced button
    - select the FreeCommander line
    - klick on Set Default button
    - close all windows with OK

coldkeys
Posts: 2
Joined: 25.05.2008, 17:56

#4 Post by coldkeys » 29.05.2008, 11:00

Not sure if I'm missing something here.

I followed the instructions above, but:-

FreeCommander not an option in 'folder'.
FreeCommander an option in 'Drive' & selected as default.
FreeCommander an option in 'File Folder' & selected as default.

So, if I click on 'My Computer' on the desktop Windows Explorer opens & not FreeCommander, which is what I'd prefer.


FreeCommander 2007.10a
WindowsXP SP2

hamish
Posts: 4
Joined: 24.05.2008, 23:01
Location: Langley Canada

#5 Post by hamish » 16.06.2008, 23:06

Marek wrote:...and in English
  • - define first FreeCommander for shell menu ( in FreeCommander Extras->Settings->Shell menu)
    - open the Windows Explorer and go to Tools->Folder Options...
    - activate the File Types tab
    - select the line with "Folder" file type
    - klick on Advanced button
    - select the FreeCommander line
    - klick on Set Default button
    - close all windows with OK
Did as described and it works on all folders "EXCEPT" My Computer & My Documents. I can live with this, but would prefer to have it open My Computer & My Documents. There must be a way to do this, no? :?:

H

cirosantilli
Posts: 2
Joined: 03.03.2012, 09:54

Re: Make FC default explorer??

#6 Post by cirosantilli » 03.03.2012, 10:27

Autohotkeys + command line is what you are looking for!

http://www.autohotkey.com/

Download the program and use the script

#e::
Run C:\Program Files (x86)\FreeCommander\FreeCommander.exe "C:\wherever\you\want\to\go"
return

This will override the Win+e command to open FreeCommander on the folder "C:\wherever\you\want\to\go". Make sure you have multiple windows enabled on FreeCommander.

Of course, you can change the hotkey you want to go to different folders, and also use hotstrings. I am currently doing things like this for all my folders:

OpenFolder(dir)
{
Run C:\Program Files (x86)\FreeCommander\FreeCommander.exe "%dir%"
}

:*:math\::
OpenFolder("C:\path\to\my\math\folder\")
return

So I type math\ and go straight to the math folder.

It would only be nice if we could open this in a new tab instead of a new window (there would need exist a simple new command argument! please FC guys do this!)

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests