Autosave Settings

Suggestions and feature requests.
Locked
Message
Author
User avatar
BGM
Posts: 572
Joined: 14.10.2008, 21:42
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Autosave Settings

#1 Post by BGM » 10.02.2011, 14:46

Hello! I am a HEAVY FreeCommander user. I use it every day for production. My request is that FC autosave its settings when it loses focus, that is, when another window becomes active. This would provide a solution for when FC crashes, you don't lose your tabs! Also, I use powerpro to add lots of other functions and capabilities to FC. One of these is generating a quick MRU list of the directories open in FC's tabs - this list I bring up when having to deal with open/save dialogues from other programs. Problem is, I have to use sendkeys to get FC to save its settings, then I can read the tabs from FC's ini file. If you don't save settings first, then you don't get the current tabs. But if FC auto-saved its settings, it wouldn't be necessary to sendkeys anymore, and the MRU list would always be current. This seems like a very easy thing to accomplish, perhaps it could be added in the next release?
(Windows 7 Professional 64bit)

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3208
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Autosave Settings

#2 Post by Dreamer » 16.02.2011, 23:41

Support. I have already suggested related options here:

http://forum.freecommander.com/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3034

BTW for example, Avant Browser has a great feature - when the browser crashes, everything, incl. opened tabs (pages) are restored on the next start.

User avatar
BGM
Posts: 572
Joined: 14.10.2008, 21:42
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Re: Autosave Settings

#3 Post by BGM » 11.10.2011, 16:50

Hello! Can we have this for the next beta? I know, being a programmer myself, that it is an easy enough thing to implement.
(Windows 7 Professional 64bit)

User avatar
BGM
Posts: 572
Joined: 14.10.2008, 21:42
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Re: Autosave Settings

#4 Post by BGM » 28.01.2012, 15:00

Is there any chance of this being added? (Thanks, Marek)
(Windows 7 Professional 64bit)

User avatar
BGM
Posts: 572
Joined: 14.10.2008, 21:42
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Re: Autosave Settings

#5 Post by BGM » 14.02.2012, 15:34

Hello, again! Marek, can we please have an option to autosave settings when the program loses focus, or "every x minutes"? I want to write some scripts that access the current folders and open tabs from FCXE's ini file, but the list in the ini file isn't current until settings are saved.
(Windows 7 Professional 64bit)

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2323
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Autosave Settings

#6 Post by Marek » 19.02.2012, 16:47

Try to use the following line in the freecommander.ini
SaveSettingsOnFormDeactivate=1

Auto save settings must be set too.

User avatar
BGM
Posts: 572
Joined: 14.10.2008, 21:42
Location: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

Re: Autosave Settings

#7 Post by BGM » 19.02.2012, 19:17

Thank you Marek!
(Windows 7 Professional 64bit)

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests