Single tree for both panes

Suggestions and feature requests.
Locked
Message
Author
dbock
Posts: 4
Joined: 29.07.2008, 01:32

Single tree for both panes

#1 Post by dbock » 29.07.2008, 02:13

I would first like to say thank you to the creators and supporters of FreeCommander. I decided to change file managers over the weekend, and installed over 12 of them in my search. This program was the best fit for me, and the winner. It is a wonderful file manager.

It would be great if there was an option to use one tree to control the active pane, instead of having to have 2 trees up; one for each pane. Not a big deal, but it is a great time and space saver when I have used it other file manager programs.

Thanks!

*Edit - Read the rules and broke my request into separate posts.

Ventzy
Posts: 2
Joined: 01.05.2010, 17:41

Re: Single tree for both panes

#2 Post by Ventzy » 01.05.2010, 17:57

FreeCommander looks good, but one additional panel for second tree... it waste my screen space and makes interface heavier. I hope that "single tree" will be implemented, I am sure that this will make FreeCommander better.

JimW
Posts: 11
Joined: 13.11.2009, 21:08

Re: Single tree for both panes

#3 Post by JimW » 10.06.2010, 15:50

I totally agree; I think a single tree is much better then dual tree's.

Guyver
Posts: 7
Joined: 08.04.2010, 21:35
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Single tree for both panes

#4 Post by Guyver » 11.06.2010, 01:26

Will be implemented in a new version of FC, see preview:

Image

JimW
Posts: 11
Joined: 13.11.2009, 21:08

Re: Single tree for both panes

#5 Post by JimW » 11.06.2010, 12:30

Excellent...

stedanarh
Posts: 37
Joined: 28.05.2010, 09:47
Contact:

Re: Single tree for both panes

#6 Post by stedanarh » 14.06.2010, 05:20

Could you say the approximate month when will be release the next version please?

Guyver
Posts: 7
Joined: 08.04.2010, 21:35
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Single tree for both panes

#7 Post by Guyver » 14.06.2010, 14:51

Nobody knows about it, so I can't answer your question.

jcaiken
Posts: 11
Joined: 10.01.2008, 23:38

Re: Single tree for both panes

#8 Post by jcaiken » 21.11.2012, 22:03

Personally I found the extra distance to travel from the single tree to the second pane enough to make me prefer the option of a tree in each pane. However, it occured to me that putting the tree between the two panes may make it more useful - could you please include this option?

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 669
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: Single tree for both panes

#9 Post by ralfso » 22.11.2012, 05:13

I think two panels, each with tree and filepane is one of the typical views of FC.

You can use it with the current FC2009 or give FreeCommander XE an try:
http://www.freecommander.com/fc_beta_en.htm
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

alf5000
Posts: 433
Joined: 12.04.2012, 15:59
Location: Austria

Re: Single tree for both panes

#10 Post by alf5000 » 19.01.2013, 20:39

ralfso wrote:I think two panels, each with tree and filepane is one of the typical views of FC.
and it's by far the most important reason for me to use FreeCommander
win7pro x64 - FCXE x64

Scott_Y
Posts: 503
Joined: 02.10.2009, 02:46
Location: Colorado, USA

Re: Single tree for both panes

#11 Post by Scott_Y » 25.01.2013, 18:41

jcaiken wrote:... putting the tree between the two panes may make it more useful - could you please include this option?
This would be a nice, ergonomic option. Good idea :D

Locked

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest