Optimizing FreeComm vertical space ...

Suggestions and feature requests.
Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Optimizing FreeComm vertical space ...

#1 Post by AEN007 » 01.04.2018, 20:16

Hi, all :)
I've been away/busy ... for ... a few years ...
Now trying to "catch up" ... on ... "some things" ...
Nice to FreeComm XE development ... still "happening" 8)

I'm currently using: FreeCommander XE 2018 Build 770 32-bit public
(I've searched the Forum/s ... and not found any similarly topic'ed threads ...)

Seemingly FCXE canNOT be shrunk ... vertically ...
beyond a certain minimum "height" :?

I (for various reasons) would like to request that ...

1) FCXE could be more flexibily/vertically resized;
2) FCXE could completely hide (ALL) the tabs ...
(Right now, FCXE (seemingly) has to show at least one (1) tab row ...)

Thank you & regards


ps: Is there some board smiley display problem :?

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3208
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Optimizing FreeComm vertical space ...

#2 Post by Dreamer » 02.04.2018, 12:45

1. Could you be more specific, perhaps show some screenshot(s)? It is possible to hide main menu, main toolbar, drive bar and use vertical toolbars, non just splitter.
2. Currently it's impossible to hide the tab-bar AFAIK, but if you don't use tabs, you can hide it:

http://freecommander.com/en/faq-folder- ... ideTabArea

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: Optimizing FreeComm vertical space ...

#3 Post by AEN007 » 21.04.2018, 02:00

Dreamer wrote:
02.04.2018, 12:45
"1. Could you be more specific, perhaps show some screenshot(s)?
It is possible to hide main menu, main toolbar,
drive bar and use vertical toolbars, non just splitter.
"
Hello ...
I'm posting two images ...
They show the minimum height to which I can re-size FrC XE 2018:
Image
I show ~ by comparison ~ how flexible 2xExplorer is ...
as far as vertical resizing ...
2xEx can even be resized down to just the WindowTitleBar ...
Image

In any case ... I find that FrCXE would be "better" ...
if I could resize the VerticalHeight more than FrCXE currently allows ...
Dreamer wrote:
02.04.2018, 12:45
"2. Currently it's impossible to hide the tab-bar AFAIK,
but if you don't use tabs, you can hide it:
http://freecommander.com/en/faq-folder- ... ideTabArea
"
Thanx ... however ...
I DO use tabs ...
I just don' t need to see any of the TabArea ~
which (therefore/imo) is VerticalSpace that could be more efficiently used ...

I use the TabPopUp menu to switch tabs ~
which (in my config) are grouped by DriveLetter ...
I just don' t need to see any of the TabArea ~
which (therefore/imo) is VerticalSpace that could be more efficiently used ...

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3208
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

Re: Optimizing FreeComm vertical space ...

#4 Post by Dreamer » 22.04.2018, 19:18

OK, so #2 is to hide tab bar, perhaps it could be added, Marek must decide, but it's possible to hide drive bar, menu, toolbars, splitter, so perhaps it's possible...

Forez
Posts: 275
Joined: 30.01.2016, 11:05
Location: In front of a PC monitor

Re: Optimizing FreeComm vertical space ...

#5 Post by Forez » 30.04.2018, 18:29

AEN007 wrote:
21.04.2018, 02:00
I'm posting two images ...
They show the minimum height to which I can re-size FrC XE 2018:
[...]
That's about right- I also cannot shrink it more. [Although I do no need it, as 99.99% of the time I use FC in a maximized mode]

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: Optimizing FreeComm vertical space ...

#6 Post by AEN007 » 28.07.2018, 22:32

Hello ...
If I were to make a donation,
would that increase the odds of seeing
my request/s about changing/improving
FreeComm's vertical resizing capabilities implemented :?:


FrC's current (lack of) vertical resizing capabilities
REALLY make FrC feel ... CUMBERSOME ... to me :|

Marek
Author
Author
Posts: 2323
Joined: 10.04.2006, 07:48
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Optimizing FreeComm vertical space ...

#7 Post by Marek » 29.07.2018, 09:52

Define in the freecommander.ini

[Form]
MainFormMinH=100

User avatar
AEN007
Posts: 111
Joined: 05.09.2009, 14:52

Re: Optimizing FreeComm vertical space ...

#8 Post by AEN007 » 04.08.2018, 03:36

Marek wrote:
29.07.2018, 09:52
"Define in the freecommander.ini

[Form]
MainFormMinH=100
"
Hallo Image, Marek ...
und vielen Dank ... für alles ...

Ich habe gerade im Juli(2018) mein erstes Win7x64 "installiert" ...
Ich möchte jetzt/auch FrCx64 ausprobieren :!:
Long-time FreeComm fan Image
Hope I've "added value" to FrC Image
Hope to help keep/make FrC worth Marek's while Image
Image

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest