Directory not found

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
nkz
Posts: 6
Joined: 05.01.2015, 15:28

Directory not found

#1 Post by nkz » 05.01.2015, 15:33

Hi.
When I want to open existed folder then FC is returning messge: "Directory not found"
Is it possible to have some explanation how to remove this issue?

Thank You
Marek

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 669
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: Directory not found

#2 Post by ralfso » 05.01.2015, 18:07

More info needed:

FC-version
Windows-version
32/64-bit
which directory can't be opened
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

nkz
Posts: 6
Joined: 05.01.2015, 15:28

Re: Directory not found

#3 Post by nkz » 05.01.2015, 23:13

2009.02b
Windows 7 64bit

I have no idea how to answer "which directory can't be opened". I have 5 or more folders on my pen-drive and just only 3 folders I can open by FC.

From Windows it's ok.

PS
I have to use 2009.02b because only this one has FTP function.

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 669
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: Directory not found

#4 Post by ralfso » 06.01.2015, 08:22

Are there special properties on the problematic folders (system, hidden)?
Do you have the same problems with your HD-folders?

Maybe you can try the new FCXE portable to proove if there are the same problems.
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

nkz
Posts: 6
Joined: 05.01.2015, 15:28

Re: Directory not found

#5 Post by nkz » 07.01.2015, 09:40

Hi
No really. Even the name is not too long. I would like to say that all folders were create at the same time and contain only jpg files.


FCXE has not FTP option what is very important for me so, I cannot to use it.

Thanks

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 669
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: Directory not found

#6 Post by ralfso » 07.01.2015, 19:53

I meant you could try the new FCXE portable to proove the problems.
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

nkz
Posts: 6
Joined: 05.01.2015, 15:28

Re: Directory not found

#7 Post by nkz » 08.01.2015, 22:16

For FCXE is working fine. :)
But unfortunately there isn't FTP, so I cannot to use it.

nkz
Posts: 6
Joined: 05.01.2015, 15:28

Re: Directory not found

#8 Post by nkz » 09.01.2015, 22:46

I was too quick.
It doesn't work for FCXE !
I can see one diffrent:
For XE I can go into the folder but when I want to open the JPG file then I have massage: The directory name is invalid.
So shortly I would say that this bug went into the new version.

Regards

nkz
Posts: 6
Joined: 05.01.2015, 15:28

Re: Directory not found

#9 Post by nkz » 10.01.2015, 00:44

I discovered the reason of the problem. Problem exists if the name contains Polish fonts.
When I remove them then the issue disappearing.
Have you any solution how to remove this issue froFC ?
THank You

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Directory not found

#10 Post by joby_toss » 10.01.2015, 06:25

Old version doesn't support Unicode, new version (tried the latest beta version?) doesn't feature FTP support yet, so I don't know how anyone could help you here.

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 669
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

Re: Directory not found

#11 Post by ralfso » 10.01.2015, 11:02

Ah, a screenshot or the names of the problematic folders would have been a quicker way to point on the problem.
As joby_toss said, actually FCXE supports Unicode, so the error on opening the jpg inside is curious.

Maybe an old answer from Dreamer for olf FC would help (viewtopic.php?p=5928#p5928):

From the FAQ 2009:
FreeCommander is non-unicode program.
You have to tell windows what language to use for non-unicode applications:
- In Windows XP select Start menu -> Settings -> Control Panel.
- In the Control Panel select Regional and Language Options.
- Select the Advanced tab.
- Set the Language for non-Unicode programs to the correct language.
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

samantahkol
Posts: 3
Joined: 09.12.2016, 21:30

Re: Directory not found

#12 Post by samantahkol » 13.12.2016, 13:37

nkz wrote:I was too quick.
It doesn't work for FCXE !
I can see one diffrent:
For XE I can go into the folder but when I want to open the JPG file then I have massage: The directory name is invalid.
So shortly I would say that this bug went into the new version.

Regards
Hi nkz, I got the same issue thank you for posting in this thread

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests