What does your FreeCommander configuration look like?

Discussion, questions and support.
Message
Author
Bearded Kirklander
Posts: 250
Joined: 25.07.2008, 10:54

What does your FreeCommander configuration look like?

#1 Post by Bearded Kirklander » 02.09.2008, 23:01

I'm curious what other FreeCommander users configs look like. Care to share? I'll go first. :)

I run in 1600x1200 on an LCD. I have 5 fields setup in my Custom Columns that break down as follows:

Name = 57 wide
Extension = 2 wide
Size = 13 wide
Modified = 18 wide
Attributes = 6 wide

I include the Extension column with a width of 2 so I can quickly click on the header to sort by Extension. It's not used to actually display the Extension, as it is included in the Name column. Here's a screen cap of the config window:

Image

By default, I have two file panes with no Tree view, much like the old Norton Commander, only in Windows. Here is a reduced size screen shot for good measure:

Image

The 3 screen caps below are at full resolution, so I'll just provide a link to the graphic and not use the IMG tag so that it doesn't wig-out the forums. Each screen cap is 1398x1077 pixels and sits pretty much in the middle of the 1600x1200 desktop. You can right click on each link and SAVE TARGET AS to your local drive and view them there, or you can click on the link. Here they are:

http://www.pdscomputing.com/files/freecmd/freecd14.png - Standard Panes
http://www.pdscomputing.com/files/freecmd/freecd15.png - Multi-Rename
http://www.pdscomputing.com/files/freecmd/freecd16.png - Quick View

The preferred layout is simple, clean and efficient. I know I can create other layouts / tabs / column setups, but the setup shown in those screen caps is what I see when I start up FreeCommander.

Your turn. :)

I'm looking forward to checkin' other configs out if folks are willing to make some screen caps.

Enjoy!

matera
Posts: 175
Joined: 31.10.2007, 01:12
Location: a cold place
Contact:

#2 Post by matera » 04.09.2008, 02:12

I have poor eyesight, and am thankful that I can use a large enough font to read file names in FC at a 1024x768 screen resolution. I use the tree view most of the time. For me it is more convenient to switch folders quickly within the same panel, even if I have to sacrifice some space. Being able to switch it off and on quickly is handy. I make plenty of use of other features too. My spread-out file system makes me appreciate the favorites.

Image

Full-size screenshot

Image
Couldn't live without FTP :)

Bearded Kirklander
Posts: 250
Joined: 25.07.2008, 10:54

#3 Post by Bearded Kirklander » 04.09.2008, 04:12

Wow! Tons of tabs! I have hardly even looked into configuring tabs for different needs and here you are looking like a tab-using veteran!

There is much good to be found in FreeCommander these days. I'm all over the Multi-Rename feature, but I have got to make some time to look into the versatility that the tabs offer. And I haven't even tried the FTP at all. I am still using WS_FTP Pro from 1995. I've tried FileZilla, but never really liked it. There is much to learn.

Thanks for the screen shots. :)

wkrekik
Posts: 58
Joined: 24.10.2007, 09:14

#4 Post by wkrekik » 04.09.2008, 16:21

Hello B K !
Here is a screenshot of my FC
Image

Locked tabs allows me to permanently display 3 frequently used folders

I have a 17 " LCD monitor with 1280 * 1024 resolution, and large display mode (120 dpi) for better visibility. So my Custom Columns parameters are different from yours.
Image

As you can see, fields are often too short in details view (because of large display mode in windows setting). Thus my default view mode is "List", enhanced by Custom Colors for quick visual identification of file extensions
Image

Also:
-Keyboard shortcut alt-F7 (Search) modified to CTRL- F
-Heavy user of favorites folders (usually, I let inactive pane undefined)
-NC mode selection
-Few toolbar icons but large icons for more visibility
-Open folders with one clic
-I use favorite tools toolbar to create shortcuts to frequently used files (in fact I have turned FC to my Desktop) !
-Instead of tree view I use right click on a folder in address bar

Bearded Kirklander
Posts: 250
Joined: 25.07.2008, 10:54

#5 Post by Bearded Kirklander » 04.09.2008, 20:51

Custom colors even! Nice...

So these Tabs and Colors are looking to be pretty awesome.

This software can do stuff I had no idea it could do! Very cool.

I think if I was running at a lower resolution, I'd be wanting to use tabs a lot. I may start using them anyway when I try out FTP and some other things. But colors is not one I would have thought to try, I don't think.

Thanks much for sharing the visual goodness. :)

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 719
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

#6 Post by ralfso » 05.09.2008, 05:09

I can't live without details and therefore the horizontal-view is perfect!

Image
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 500 GB SSD, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

Bearded Kirklander
Posts: 250
Joined: 25.07.2008, 10:54

#7 Post by Bearded Kirklander » 05.09.2008, 06:32

ralfso wrote:I can't live without details and therefore the horizontal-view is perfect!
Rock on! That looks like how Xtree and/or Central Point File Manager for DOS used to look. Remember that Xtree program? It was Xtree and Norton Commander neck and neck for YEARS!

Very nice layout and excellent color choices.

I have got to learn to be more creative. :)

jljovano
Posts: 5
Joined: 06.09.2008, 19:39

#8 Post by jljovano » 06.09.2008, 19:40

Great one ralfso. But how do you get diff. colors for each tab ? I can't find the option anywhere ? ???
:)

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 719
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

#9 Post by ralfso » 07.09.2008, 08:58

It's a little bit hidden.

Rightclick on the Tab and chose "Rename and lock". There you can configure the colors for the tabs.

If you are speaking a little bit german or french, you can use the actual help files for FC 2008.
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 500 GB SSD, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

jljovano
Posts: 5
Joined: 06.09.2008, 19:39

#10 Post by jljovano » 07.09.2008, 20:45

Hey, thanks ! Could not find it, look better now :D
(how we can spend time for futilities... ;))

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 3681
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40
Location: Slovakia

#11 Post by Dreamer » 09.09.2008, 22:19

ralfso wrote:It's a little bit hidden.
It's not a little bit hidden, it's very well hidden! :o

Perhaps there should be another menu item to change the color. It should be as intuitive as possible.

Bearded Kirklander
Posts: 250
Joined: 25.07.2008, 10:54

#12 Post by Bearded Kirklander » 09.09.2008, 23:08

I agree. Easier to find = Win!

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 719
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

#13 Post by ralfso » 10.09.2008, 05:05

This was already proposed in may in the german forum, but I think its good that this deficit is also listed here in the english forum.

I've proposed a own menu option or to rename the existing menu option to "rename, lock and colors" ("umbenennen, sperren und Farben").

http://www.supernature-forum.de/freecom ... -tabs.html
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 500 GB SSD, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

User avatar
JohnFredC
Posts: 123
Joined: 17.10.2007, 00:08
Location: Sarasota Florida

#14 Post by JohnFredC » 24.09.2008, 01:26

I see in the images of Matera's post the same problem I experience: The x-height of the fonts used for the tab labels and the path boxes is not respected when the DPI isn't "standard".

I use the Windows 120 DPI setting on my 1920x1200 display and the descenders are "cut off" my tab labels just as they are in Matera's images.

See my year-old post about this issue here.
Mouse-centric

Bearded Kirklander
Posts: 250
Joined: 25.07.2008, 10:54

#15 Post by Bearded Kirklander » 24.09.2008, 03:07

JohnFredC wrote:I see in the images of Matera's post the same problem I experience: The x-height of the fonts used for the tab labels and the path boxes is not respected when the DPI isn't "standard".

I use the Windows 120 DPI setting on my 1920x1200 display and the descenders are "cut off" my tab labels just as they are in Matera's images.

See my year-old post about this issue here.
I've never even considered that idea before. I guess I've always just left the font DPI alone and not thought of changing it. Not sure why, but it just never came up.

Maybe Marek could add a feature to allow users to set the height of the tabs by entering in a size number, sort of like he does for the Width of Splitter" setting in the EXTRAS > SETTINGS > VIEW > SPLITTER menu / dialog page.

Have you made that a newer Feature Request yet? I'd support it. :)

Perhaps you can email Marek directly. It really would be a nice addition.

I hope Marek has the time. There are some preferences I too would like to see implemented that I have not heard back about yet.

I get kind of geeked up about the upcoming versions and the changes to come. I try to be patient, but it's hard when you are such a fan of the program. :)

It would be nice if Marek could find the time to let us know what he's working on and what his schedule is. What bugs or features are higher on the priority list and which ones are lower. I don't wanna be rude or impose, but hey, I do get curious...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests