Question about upgrading to new version

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
broby6
Posts: 7
Joined: 09.08.2008, 06:40

Question about upgrading to new version

#1 Post by broby6 » 09.08.2008, 06:50

Is there a way to keep all my customized settings when I upgrade to a new version? There are so many ways to configure FC that I forget everything I did between upgrades.

By the way FC is an extremely useful and well thought out program. There is rarely a case when I can't get it to do what I want. Thanks for developing such an excellent program.

User avatar
ralfso
Posts: 707
Joined: 31.10.2007, 17:21
Location: Gifhorn, Germany

#2 Post by ralfso » 09.08.2008, 07:12

Your settings are saved in the file "freecommander.ini" and your Shortcuts in the file "freecommander.shc".
Normally they are localized in you freecommander-install-folder.
You should allways have a safe copy of them.

For upgrading you can use the zip.file of the new freecommander version and extract the file to your freecommander-install-folder.
The settings will survive because the zip-file has no settings-files. Freecommander doesn't need an installation.
(zip-file at the bottom of http://www.freecommander.com/fc_u3_en.htm)

I don't know if the setup-routine installs a new "freecommander.ini", but if it does so you have your safe copy of the settings-files to put them back.
Regards
Ralf

Win10 (64-bit), Intel i7-2600 (3,4 GHz), 8 GB Ram, 500 GB SSD, 2x2000 GB HD, NVIDIA GeForce 545

broby6
Posts: 7
Joined: 09.08.2008, 06:40

Thanks for the quick reply!

#3 Post by broby6 » 09.08.2008, 09:10

I used the zip file as you suggested, and that took care of my problem.

I appreciate the quick help.

Thanks again,

Bob Roby

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests