Page 1 of 1

"Rename with slow double click" needs 4 clicks (!)

Posted: 02.01.2019, 09:44
by WhyNot
Hello,
With release 790 public portable, "Rename with slow double click" needs 4 clicks (!) instead of 2 with previous versions.
Regards

Re: "Rename with slow double click" needs 4 clicks (!)

Posted: 02.01.2019, 11:37
by Karol
No problem, two clicks are enough here.

Re: "Rename with slow double click" needs 4 clicks (!)

Posted: 02.01.2019, 12:52
by WhyNot
Same problem on various computers with different configurations (Win 7, Win 10,…).
Sometimes I need 3 clicks, often 4, never 2.
No problem with build 770.

Re: "Rename with slow double click" needs 4 clicks (!)

Posted: 02.01.2019, 21:56
by Dreamer
Can't confirm with default settings.

You can try default settings or download the older version and unpack to a new folder, just to make sure it's the new version issue, or settings issue.

Re: "Rename with slow double click" needs 4 clicks (!)

Posted: 03.01.2019, 16:43
by WhyNot
Same problem with personal and default settings, with fresh install and portable version, on my personal computers (win 10) and my company computers (win 7).
The following topic reported a similar problem possibly related to mine:
viewtopic.php?t=6617

Re: "Rename with slow double click" needs 4 clicks (!)

Posted: 03.01.2019, 19:29
by m-a-r-k
I've had this problem for many years on Windows XP, 7 and 10.
Sometimes after many clicks I find it easier to move the mouse cursor away from FC, click somewhere else, and then come back to FC where the slow double click usually works first time.

Re: "Rename with slow double click" needs 4 clicks (!)

Posted: 04.01.2019, 13:57
by Zorkoff
Alternatively, you can always get 1 click by pressing the F2 key.

Re: "Rename with slow double click" needs 4 clicks (!)

Posted: 04.01.2019, 14:43
by Frexniq
Same issue here. Windows 10

Re: "Rename with slow double click" needs 4 clicks (!)

Posted: 04.01.2019, 15:58
by horst.epp
No such problem with x64 version 790 of FC
under Windows 10 version 1809
I guess most users with such problems have strange settings in their mouse driver software.

Re: "Rename with slow double click" needs 4 clicks (!)

Posted: 04.01.2019, 22:05
by Marek
Renaming with slow double-click is allowed only in a period of time. If your "Double-click speed" in Windows is defined as slow than your second click for rename must be slow too.
The max alowed value for "Double-click speed" in Windows is 5000 milliseconds. In such case FreeCommander recognizes the second click for rename after 5 seconds and before 6 seconds.
If your "Double-click speed" is very short ( e.g. 300 milliseconds) and you wait too long with the second click for rename than it will be not recognized too. In such case FreeCommander recognizes the second klick for rename after 300 milliseconds and before 1300 milliseconds.

I see, the period of time 1000 milliseconds may be to short. I will increase the value for the next release.