Page 1 of 1

synchonize issues with filesize

Posted: 19.12.2017, 13:39
by rlodbrok
Hi,

prio 1
I am connecting to remote folder using this address \\company.com@SSL\DavWWWRoot\sites\customer\Operations\Projects\. This works fine. But when i copy files... the size does not match, resulting in "unequal files" - even if [separately calculated] MD5 checksums are matching! When using sync options "checksum" or "content" it does not even calculate the difference if the size on the remote server/drive is different. Please tip us or include another option to recognize files in both folders.

Regards,
Ragnar

prio 3 side note.
renaming files and folders is a bitch when using sync.

Re: synchonize issues with filesize

Posted: 19.12.2017, 20:19
by Marek
But when i copy files... the size does not match
Have you checked it in Explorer? What happens if you make the copy operation with Explorer?
Check the Explorer view in both folders: remote and lokal. Are the sizes equal after the copy operation?

Re: synchonize issues with filesize

Posted: 19.12.2017, 23:16
by rlodbrok
Hi,
no the sizes are never equal (however it is copied) but the file content is equal (verified manual and with checksums). My assumed reason for that is that remote remote storage size is calculated because of different block-sizes or something. Having different sizes is just fact, equalizing them (somehow) or focusing on that will probably not help.
BR

Re: synchonize issues with filesize

Posted: 22.12.2017, 13:02
by Marek
In the next release: files with unequal size will be compared by checksum or content - if the appropriate option is active.

Re: synchonize issues with filesize

Posted: 02.01.2018, 12:52
by rlodbrok
hi,
i am assuming you refer to release 767 : Folder - > Synchronize..." same files can be marked as unresolved
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=775&start=210

I am looking forward to your solution - thanks.