Renaming problem

Bugs and issues.
Post Reply
Message
Author
chris millward
Posts: 11
Joined: 02.01.2017, 17:09

Renaming problem

#1 Post by chris millward » 13.01.2017, 18:44

After renaming a file/folder, closing the rename by clicking on the directory path to select its parent folder, the rename is not completed and remains unchanged.

Windows File Explorer completes the rename and treats any other selection as an 'Enter'.

horst.epp
Posts: 143
Joined: 15.11.2008, 19:18

Re: Renaming problem

#2 Post by horst.epp » 14.01.2017, 14:48

You know how it works, so its no real renaming problem.
For me Explorer behaviour is wrong in this case.
I like the Total Commander way, it doesn't accept clicks on path while in renaming mode.

Timon
Posts: 660
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: Renaming problem

#3 Post by Timon » 14.01.2017, 17:21

Maybe I misunderstood something, but in my config (NC-mode with full row select) everything works exactly as you want in FC XE 737 32-bit donor.
After renaming a file/folder, closing the rename by clicking on the directory path to select its parent folder, rename occurs, file name changes.
See video http://imgur.com/a/HAVfW
Even If I click not on parent folder, but on [..] element, file rename also occurs.
Maybe you use another method, then describe it.

chris millward
Posts: 11
Joined: 02.01.2017, 17:09

Re: Renaming problem

#4 Post by chris millward » 15.01.2017, 17:32

Clicking on the folder path would do 2 jobs at once saving time, closing one operation and starting another.
I am on 730, but it's nice to know that it has been fixed in a later build.
Anything that minimises the time or the number operations required to action something is important to any user.

Timon
Posts: 660
Joined: 13.09.2012, 06:51

Re: Renaming problem

#5 Post by Timon » 15.01.2017, 18:33

I am on 730, but it's nice to know that it has been fixed in a later build.
I'm not quite sure, that something was fixed. I see nothing about that problem in list of changes for later versions. Assume that I have some option switched on, which is disabled by default.

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Renaming problem

#6 Post by joby_toss » 15.01.2017, 21:19

XE 730 x86 beta public portable using default settings on win 10 x64:
-click file
-hit F2
-enter new name
-double click first item [..]
Rename OK.
Image

or
-click file
-hit F2
-enter new name
-click parent folder in address bar
Rename NOT OK.
Image

@Timon: tried enabling NC-mode (the only changed option), same results. Wander what setting allows that behavior in your case...

chris millward
Posts: 11
Joined: 02.01.2017, 17:09

Re: Renaming problem

#7 Post by chris millward » 16.01.2017, 21:49

I didn't have the parent directory icon enabled, however it still requires two separate clicks to go back to the last directory. Lazy? Not if you are doing this kind of operation dozens of times a day.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests