Filter applied does not Apply to copy operations. My bad??

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
minsik
Posts: 17
Joined: 13.05.2015, 10:12
Location: Sydney - Australia

Filter applied does not Apply to copy operations. My bad??

#1 Post by minsik » 13.05.2015, 11:06

Newbie to FreeCommander but I see so much potential here as it reminders me of my ancient and beloved "ELFTREE!" Does any know this? Then you are at least as old as me!

Anyway I apply a filter with ctl-f12 and filter only on *.mp3;*.m3u for instance. That displays the filtered list.
Now go up one level with filter still applied. select the directory and copy to a drive in the rhs pane. Now ALL files including unfiltered files are copied. Is this an expected result?

I expected the filtered display to be the list that the copy/delete/move request acts on!

thanks for any ideas and resolutions.

Minsik.

joby_toss
Posts: 1345
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Filter applied does not Apply to copy operations. My bad

#2 Post by joby_toss » 13.05.2015, 19:14

minsik wrote:Is this an expected result?
Yes.
minsik wrote:I expected the filtered display to be the list that the copy/delete/move request acts on!
Apply the filter, select all the displayed files and then copy/move them.

minsik
Posts: 17
Joined: 13.05.2015, 10:12
Location: Sydney - Australia

Re: Filter applied does not Apply to copy operations. My bad

#3 Post by minsik » 13.05.2015, 23:06

Thanks for that info.

However logic sort of says, I am displaying a filtered set of items, actions will occur on them.

if I drag and drop from filtered left pane to nun filtered right pane then ALL even hidden items are copied.
If I use F5 then the copy dialog allows filtering inc a defined filter. But have to remember to use copy filtering on top of the display filtering.
so the two seperate situations apply.

The displayed area and the copy/move area, these should be possible to be linked maybe in an option setting.

Thanks. gradually learning stuff.

joby_toss
Posts: 1345
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Filter applied does not Apply to copy operations. My bad

#4 Post by joby_toss » 14.05.2015, 06:17

minsik wrote:However logic sort of says, I am displaying a filtered set of items, actions will occur on them.
You're applying just a visual filter. Actions will occur on selected items.

Maybe, in future, there will be an option like "Automatically select filtered items", who knows?...

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests