Error message

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
plk
Posts: 6
Joined: 02.06.2011, 15:20

Error message

#1 Post by plk » 27.05.2014, 16:33

I have been using Freecommander for years without any problem, and suddenly I found that I could not use it to open any file. Every other file manager that I have tried works just fine.

This is the error message that I get: Windows cannot access the specified device, path, or file. You may not have the appropriate permissions to access the item.

I am certainly logged in as an administrator.

I tried reinstalling. Same problem. I tried uninstalling rebooting and reinstalling. Same problem.

I don't believe that I was doing anything that should have caused the problem when the problem appeared.

Thank you for your help.

Phil King

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4034
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Error message

#2 Post by Dreamer » 27.05.2014, 17:55

Perhaps it's a broken path, please check all opened tabs and fix the broken path.

plk
Posts: 6
Joined: 02.06.2011, 15:20

Re: Error message

#3 Post by plk » 27.05.2014, 19:23

Dreamer wrote:Perhaps it's a broken path, please check all opened tabs and fix the broken path.
I am afraid I do not know what you mean or how I would fix a broken path.

Uninstalling and reinstalling did not fix the problem.

Phil

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4034
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Error message

#4 Post by Dreamer » 27.05.2014, 21:05

Strange, try to close all tabs, set path for left and right panel to C:\ and restart FC.

plk
Posts: 6
Joined: 02.06.2011, 15:20

Re: Error message

#5 Post by plk » 27.05.2014, 21:35

Dreamer wrote:Strange, try to close all tabs, set path for left and right panel to C:\ and restart FC.
The last tab on each panel will not close. Set to C: and restart. Same problem.

User avatar
Dreamer
Site Admin
Posts: 4034
Joined: 19.08.2007, 21:40

Re: Error message

#6 Post by Dreamer » 27.05.2014, 21:47

Strange, perhaps you're using some program, like TrueCrypt, Daemon which is creating new drives and it's unavailable?

plk
Posts: 6
Joined: 02.06.2011, 15:20

Re: Error message

#7 Post by plk » 27.05.2014, 21:52

Dreamer wrote:Strange, perhaps you're using some program, like TrueCrypt, Daemon which is creating new drives and it's unavailable?
No. I have not added anything like that. I first noticed it after downloading TeX. It was then installed on an external hard drive that is only turned on when I need it. The download was deleted.

joby_toss
Posts: 1345
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: Error message

#8 Post by joby_toss » 27.05.2014, 23:26

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2669244
And run XE as admin (right click... etc.).

plk
Posts: 6
Joined: 02.06.2011, 15:20

Re: Error message

#9 Post by plk » 28.05.2014, 00:00

joby_toss wrote:http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2669244
And run XE as admin (right click... etc.).
I am. I checked that. I am the only person who uses the computer.

I know that it does not make any sense.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests