start up of the portable xe version after "crash"

Discussion, questions and support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
pepo
Posts: 3
Joined: 10.03.2014, 08:37

start up of the portable xe version after "crash"

#1 Post by pepo » 11.03.2014, 10:31

Hi,

first the situation:
I am shutting down my PC always with many programs opened. There is no problem for the programs as there is no necesary info which I shouldn't loose. In portable freecommander (previous standard version), it was also no problem for FC standard.
But now with the new FCxe portable version (build 650) after starting I get always the following info (or something similar) : "freecommander did not close properly last time and will now clean up. Please start again."
After this I just click OK and then I have to start freecommander again.

I would like to ask if there would be a possibility to avoid this with some settings. As this routine could be automated. I have searched for some settings in ini file. But no success.
I have tried to solve this also by my autostart batch (where I have deleted some temp files in the local temp app folder), but no success.
Please help or advice.

System is win7 x64 Enterprise.

kind regards

pepo

pepo
Posts: 3
Joined: 10.03.2014, 08:37

Re: start up of the portable xe version after "crash"

#2 Post by pepo » 14.03.2014, 09:44

bump!
nobody? no workaround?

Hi, if this post belongs to the feature section, please move it to there.

kind regards

pepo

joby_toss
Posts: 1346
Joined: 22.07.2009, 19:19
Location: Romania
Contact:

Re: start up of the portable xe version after "crash"

#3 Post by joby_toss » 14.03.2014, 12:22

Workaround: close Free Commander and then shut down the PC.

wrbird
Posts: 224
Joined: 01.11.2010, 13:34
Location: CO, USA

Re: start up of the portable xe version after "crash"

#4 Post by wrbird » 17.03.2014, 14:21

joby_toss, that's an excellent work around. It works perfectly for me everytime:)

pepo
Posts: 3
Joined: 10.03.2014, 08:37

Re: start up of the portable xe version after "crash"

#5 Post by pepo » 20.05.2014, 13:32

joby_toss wrote:Workaround: close Free Commander and then shut down the PC.
Well, well!, joby_toss, really excellent answer. What a workaround! Why I haven't found it by myself... However wait, I am doing this all the time!

Now to be honest, this is not a joke forum, I was asking for help.
Please read my post once again ... If you can help, please help. If not, then please give up and let answer anybody else who is more competent to answer questions...

Kind regards

surio
Posts: 6
Joined: 07.06.2014, 06:28

Re: start up of the portable xe version after "crash"

#6 Post by surio » 07.06.2014, 06:38

pepo wrote:Hi,

first the situation:
But now with the new FCxe portable version (build 650) after starting I get always the following info (or something similar) : "freecommander did not close properly last time and will now clean up. Please start again."
After this I just click OK and then I have to start freecommander again.

System is win7 x64 Enterprise.

kind regards

pepo
Hello pepo,
This is something that the portableapps framework tracks and maintains internally. It is not in the hands of freecommander. I have many portableapps software on my machine and if *any* of them does not close properly, I get that same error message when I run it first time after recovering from the crash. It is a way for the paf software to do internal cleanup and recovery. So I have accepted it as a part of the software framework.

So, there is nothing that can be done about that error, so long as we are running the portable version. The best solution would be to spend a minute closing all open software programmes before shut down...
Sorry, but this seems to be the only solution to this issue at present.
Incy wincy spider climbed the water spout,
Down came the rain and washed the spider out!

Anonymous1
Posts: 1
Joined: 08.07.2014, 16:58

Re: start up of the portable xe version after "crash"

#7 Post by Anonymous1 » 08.07.2014, 18:00

"portable did not close properly"... :evil:
I have this trouble too.

My solution - cmd file in same folder (#START.cmd):

Code: Select all

SET APPNAME="qBittorrentPortable"
DEL .\Data\PortableApps.comLauncherRuntimeData-%APPNAME%.ini
START .\%APPNAME%.exe
Modified:

Universal solution for all PortableApps:

Code: Select all

FOR /F %%i IN ('dir /b "*.exe"') DO SET APPNAME=%%i
SET APPNAME=%APPNAME:.exe=%
DEL .\Data\PortableApps.comLauncherRuntimeData-%APPNAME%.ini
START .\%APPNAME%.exe
:mrgreen:

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests